Sign In | Register


RECENT ARRIVALS


Catholic Watershed

By Cahill, Michael P.

This book is about the Chicago ordination class of 1969 and how they helped changed the Church. The author interviewed six members of this class (Michael Ahlstrom, Larry Duris, Bob Heidenreich, Tom Libera, Ed Upton, and Bill Zavaski), personally. Each subject explained his background in the seminary and his pastoral work, in local parishes. In the ordination class, there were originally 35 men; after several deaths and occupational shifts, there remain nineteen who are still officially listed as active. The six interviewed, with perhaps another four or five, have maintained long-term relationships with each other up to the present day. They have shared memories and ongoing reflections, represented in this book. These six men, each in his own way, did his best to implement the teaching of the Second Vatican Council, as each understood that teaching. This book abounds in tales of personal experiences. By reading these tales, you can get a penetrating glimpse into the changing Church, in the 1960s and 1970s, a time of considerable conflict and growth. The author, Michael P. Cahill, has a Ph.D. in history, from the University of Chicago. He has taught church history at Mundelein Seminary for many years. He has also served as chair of the Pastoral Council of the Chicago Archdiocese. He belongs to Our Lady of Mery Parish in the city of Chicago.

$24.95

The Deacon Reader
stock photo

The Deacon Reader

By Keating, James

This book is an anthology of articles on the diaconate. Authors include a wide spectrum of theologians, historians, deacons, and others. The first part of the book provides essays on historical and theological questions about the diaconate. The second part gives us articles about pastoral foundations for the identity of the deacon. The third part has two essays on the sociological identity of the deacon, including that of married man. The multiple endorsements at the beginning of this book bear witness to its value. The editor, himself a deacon, intends this book to be used especially by deacons in the course of their studies, preparing for ordination. In fact, the book would be a valuable resource for any deacon or priest. Especially useful is the very first essay by Father Edward Enright, OSA, on the history of the diaconate. He shows how the deacon is important to the Church and to its mission, down through the ages.

$29.95

Ceremonial of Bishops
stock photo

Ceremonial of Bishops

By International Commission on English in the Liturgy

Sturdy, smyth-sewn binding. 340 pages. This is the exceptionally extensive book of guidelines for all liturgies presided over by a bishop. The book is remarkable in this edition for its thorough explanation of theology, not just rubrics. Moreover, the Ceremonial represents genuine development, in accord with the impetus of the Constitution on the Liturgy (1963). The "General Considerations" at the beginning of the book in this regard are especially significant.

$49.95

I\'ll Only Speak for 3 Minutes: Volume 2
stock photo

I'll Only Speak for 3 Minutes: Volume 2

By McKenna, George

Ultra-short sermons from an airport chaplain. 110 pages. Short book, too.

$20.00

The Person in the Pulpit

By Jabusch, Willard F

From a positive new perspective, Father Willard F. Jabusch here considers the person of the preacher--that bold individual who dares to speak from the Christian pulpit. The author analyzes the characteristics of the good preacher. Father Jabusch bases his study on qualifications given in the Bible and in the writings of the Fathers and later authors. Himself a preacher, Father Jabusch deals directly with the preacher's need for a deep Christian commitment and a sincere dedication to his vocation. The author challenges the preacher to develop "that special sparkle" of creativity that makes every message a new and meaningful experience, week after week. Most important, says Father Jabusch, is that a preacher truly care about his people. He should do this not only when they are within the church building but also when they are immersed in their daily lives, in the world. For many years, Father Jabusch was professor of preaching at Mundelein Seminary of the University of St. Mary of the Lake, within the Archdiocese of Chicago. He has published many books and articles on preaching, the same area of study in which he earned his Ph.D. at Northwestern University.

$10.00

Furthermore!: Memories of a Parish Priest
stock photo

Furthermore!: Memories of a Parish Priest

By Greeley, Andrew

This is the second volume of Father Greeley's memoirs. This copy was signed by the author himself, at the 2000 ACP benefit, held in his honor. "A master of the human heart." --Los Angeles Times.

$45.00

One Good Shoe, One Bad Shoe

By Friedl, Francis

A collection of stories, by Msgr. Francis Friedl of Dubuque, Iowa. "Msgr. Friedl's stories are vivid and engaging...What a wonderful gift and memory Msgr. has for storytelling." --William T. Lynch, President, Leo Burnett.

$15.00

Introduction to the Homily, An
stock photo

Introduction to the Homily, An

By Waznak, Robert P

This book leads to a practical understanding of what the homily is meant to be and what it is supposed to do. The author relies on recent homiletic scholarship, authoritative Church documents, plus the lived experience of preachers and people. "Father Robert Waznak's An Introduction to the Homily is far more than another set of basics; it is a treasure-trove, in the tradition of Buttrick and Brueggemann, Craddock and Hilkert. Not only does he use to splendid effect an amazing amount of pertinent homiletic literature, official and other; he has precious insights of his own...Tiro and veteran, get hold of it. Satisfaction guaranteed." --Father Walter J. Burghardt, S.J.

$14.00

Do You Love Me? Ministry in Today's Church

By Grassi, Dominic

Ordained a priest in 1973, the author speaks from experience. Here are real stories from the lives of real people.

$15.00