Skip to content

The Astonishing Color of After
Stock Photo: Cover May Be Different

The Astonishing Color of After Hardcover - 2018

by Emily X. Pan


From the publisher

A Time Magazine 100 Best YA Books of All Time Selection A stunning, heartbreaking debut novel about grief, love, and family, perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson and Celeste Ng. Leigh Chen Sanders is absolutely certain about one thing: When her mother died by suicide, she turned into a bird. Leigh, who is half Asian and half white, travels to Taiwan to meet her maternal grandparents for the first time. There, she is determined to find her mother, the bird. In her search, she winds up chasing after ghosts, uncovering family secrets, and forging a new relationship with her grandparents. And as she grieves, she must try to reconcile the fact that on the same day she kissed her best friend and longtime secret crush, Axel, her mother was taking her own life. Alternating between real and magic, past and present, friendship and romance, hope and despair, The Astonishing Color of After is a stunning and heartbreaking novel about finding oneself through family history, art, grief, and love. "Emily X.R. Pan's brilliantly crafted, harrowing first novel portrays the vast spectrum of love and grief with heart-wrenching beauty and candor. This is a very special book."- John Green, bestselling author of The Fault in Our Stars and Turtles All the Way Down

Details

  • Title The Astonishing Color of After
  • Author Emily X. Pan
  • Binding Hardcover
  • Pages 480
  • Volumes 1
  • Language ENG
  • Publisher Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
  • Date 2018-03
  • ISBN 9780316463997 / 031646399X
  • Weight 1.28 lbs (0.58 kg)
  • Dimensions 8.75 x 6.13 x 1.5 in (22.23 x 15.57 x 3.81 cm)
  • Ages 14 to 17 years
  • Grade levels 9 - 12
  • Reading level 670
  • Library of Congress subjects Racially mixed people, Grief
  • Library of Congress Catalog Number 2017022920
  • Dewey Decimal Code FIC

About the author

Emily X.R. Pan currently lives in Brooklyn, New York, but was originally born in the Midwestern United States to immigrant parents from Taiwan. She received her MFA in fiction from the NYU Creative Writing Program, where she was a Goldwater Fellow. She is the founding editor-in-chief of Bodega Magazine, and a 2017 Artist-in-Residence at Djerassi. She is the author ofThe Astonishing Color of After and An Arrow to the Moon. Visit Emily online at exrpan.com, and find her on Twitter and Instagram: @exrpan.
Back to Top

More Copies for Sale

The Astonishing Color of After
Stock Photo: Cover May Be Different

The Astonishing Color of After

by Pan, Emily X.R

  • Used
Condition
Used - Very Good
ISBN 10 / ISBN 13
9780316463997 / 031646399x
Quantity Available
1
Seller
Waltham, Massachusetts, United States
Seller rating:
This seller has earned a 5 of 5 Stars rating from Biblio customers.
Item Price
$2.81
$3.00 shipping to USA

Show Details

Description:
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers. Used - Very Good. . . All orders guaranteed and ship within 24 hours. Your purchase supports More Than Words, a nonprofit job training program for youth, empowering youth to take charge of their lives by taking charge of a business.
Item Price
$2.81
$3.00 shipping to USA
The Astonishing Color of After
Stock Photo: Cover May Be Different

The Astonishing Color of After

by Pan, Emily X.R.

  • Used
Condition
Used - Very Good
ISBN 10 / ISBN 13
9780316463997 / 031646399x
Quantity Available
1
Seller
Frederick, Maryland, United States
Seller rating:
This seller has earned a 4 of 5 Stars rating from Biblio customers.
Item Price
$5.17
$3.99 shipping to USA

Show Details

Description:
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers. Used - Very Good. Very Good condition. Very Good dust jacket. A copy that may have a few cosmetic defects. May also contain light spine creasing or a few markings such as an owner’s name, short gifter’s inscription or light stamp.
Item Price
$5.17
$3.99 shipping to USA
The Astonishing Color of After
Stock Photo: Cover May Be Different

The Astonishing Color of After

by Pan, Emily X.R.

  • Used
  • very good
  • Hardcover
  • first
Condition
Used - Very Good
Edition
1st Edition
Binding
Hardcover
ISBN 10 / ISBN 13
9780316463997 / 031646399X
Quantity Available
1
Seller
Memphis, Tennessee, United States
Seller rating:
This seller has earned a 3 of 5 Stars rating from Biblio customers.
Item Price
$6.00
$4.99 shipping to USA

Show Details

Description:
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers, 2018. 1st Edition. Hardcover. Very Good. Tight. clean.
Item Price
$6.00
$4.99 shipping to USA
The Astonishing Color of After

The Astonishing Color of After

  • Used
  • good
  • Hardcover
Condition
Used - Good
Binding
Hardcover
ISBN 10 / ISBN 13
9780316463997 / 031646399X
Quantity Available
7
Seller
Seattle, Washington, United States
Seller rating:
This seller has earned a 4 of 5 Stars rating from Biblio customers.
Item Price
$6.59
FREE shipping to USA

Show Details

Description:
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers, 2018. Hardcover. Good. Disclaimer:A copy that has been read, but remains in clean condition. All pages are intact, and the cover is intact. The spine may show signs of wear. Pages can include limited notes and highlighting, and the copy can include previous owner inscriptions. An ex-library book and may have standard library stamps and/or stickers. At ThriftBooks, our motto is: Read More, Spend Less.Dust jacket quality is not guaranteed.
Item Price
$6.59
FREE shipping to USA
The Astonishing Color of After
Stock Photo: Cover May Be Different

The Astonishing Color of After

by Pan, Emily X. R

  • Used
Condition
Used - Very Good
ISBN 10 / ISBN 13
9780316463997 / 031646399x
Quantity Available
5
Seller
Mishawaka, Indiana, United States
Seller rating:
This seller has earned a 5 of 5 Stars rating from Biblio customers.
Item Price
$7.24
FREE shipping to USA

Show Details

Description:
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers. Used - Very Good. Former library book; may include library markings. Used book that is in excellent condition. May show signs of wear or have minor defects.
Item Price
$7.24
FREE shipping to USA
The Astonishing Color of After
Stock Photo: Cover May Be Different

The Astonishing Color of After

by Pan, Emily X. R

  • Used
Condition
Used - Good
ISBN 10 / ISBN 13
9780316463997 / 031646399x
Quantity Available
11
Seller
Mishawaka, Indiana, United States
Seller rating:
This seller has earned a 5 of 5 Stars rating from Biblio customers.
Item Price
$7.24
FREE shipping to USA

Show Details

Description:
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers. Used - Good. Former library book; may include library markings. Used book that is in clean, average condition without any missing pages.
Item Price
$7.24
FREE shipping to USA
The Astonishing Color of After
Stock Photo: Cover May Be Different

The Astonishing Color of After

by Pan, Emily X. R

  • Used
Condition
Used - Good
ISBN 10 / ISBN 13
9780316463997 / 031646399x
Quantity Available
2
Seller
Mishawaka, Indiana, United States
Seller rating:
This seller has earned a 5 of 5 Stars rating from Biblio customers.
Item Price
$7.36
FREE shipping to USA

Show Details

Description:
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers. Used - Good. Used book that is in clean, average condition without any missing pages.
Item Price
$7.36
FREE shipping to USA
The Astonishing Color of After
Stock Photo: Cover May Be Different

The Astonishing Color of After

by Pan, Emily X. R

  • Used
Condition
Used - Good
ISBN 10 / ISBN 13
9780316463997 / 031646399x
Quantity Available
3
Seller
Reno, Nevada, United States
Seller rating:
This seller has earned a 5 of 5 Stars rating from Biblio customers.
Item Price
$7.36
FREE shipping to USA

Show Details

Description:
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers. Used - Good. Former library book; may include library markings. Used book that is in clean, average condition without any missing pages.
Item Price
$7.36
FREE shipping to USA
The Astonishing Color of After
Stock Photo: Cover May Be Different

The Astonishing Color of After

by Pan, Emily X.R

  • Used
  • Hardcover
Condition
Used: Good
Binding
Hardcover
ISBN 10 / ISBN 13
9780316463997 / 031646399X
Quantity Available
1
Seller
HOUSTON, Texas, United States
Seller rating:
This seller has earned a 4 of 5 Stars rating from Biblio customers.
Item Price
$7.42
FREE shipping to USA

Show Details

Description:
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers, 2018-03-20. Hardcover. Used: Good.
Item Price
$7.42
FREE shipping to USA
The Astonishing Color of After
Stock Photo: Cover May Be Different

The Astonishing Color of After

by Pan, Emily X.R

  • New
  • Hardcover
Condition
New
Binding
Hardcover
ISBN 10 / ISBN 13
9780316463997 / 031646399X
Quantity Available
1
Seller
Houston, Texas, United States
Seller rating:
This seller has earned a 4 of 5 Stars rating from Biblio customers.
Item Price
$12.97
FREE shipping to USA

Show Details

Description:
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers, 2018-03-20. Hardcover. New. 6x1x8.
Item Price
$12.97
FREE shipping to USA