Sign In | Register
9780375508585

Stock photo

Shadow Divers The True Adventure of Two Americans Who Risked Everything to Solve One of the Last Mysteries of World War II by Robert Kurson ISBN 13: 9780375508585

ISBN 10: 0375508589

Unknown; New York: Random House, June 29, 2004; ISBN-13: 978-0375508585

In the tradition of Jon Krakauer's Into Thin Air and Sebastian Junger's The Perfect Storm comes a true tale of riveting adventure in which two weekend scuba divers risk everything to solve a great historical mystery--and make history themselves.For John Chatterton and Richie Kohler, deep wreck diving was more than a sport. Testing themselves against treacherous currents, braving depths that induced hallucinatory effects, navigating through wreckage as perilous as a minefield, they pushed themselves to their limits and beyond, brushing against death more than once in the rusting hulks of sunken ships.But in the fall of 1991, not even these courageous divers were prepared for what they found 230 feet below the surface, in the frigid Atlantic waters sixty miles off the coast of New Jersey: a World War II German U-boat, its ruined interior a macabre wasteland of twisted metal, tangled wires, and human bones--all buried under decades of accumulated sediment.No identifying marks were visible on the submarine or the few artifacts brought to the surface. No historian, expert, or government had a clue as to which U-boat the men had found. In fact, the official records all agreed that there simply could not be a sunken U-boat and crew at that location.Over the next six years, an elite team of divers embarked on a quest to solve the mystery. Some of them would not live to see its end. Chatterton and Kohler, at first bitter rivals, would be drawn into a friendship that deepened to an almost mystical sense of brotherhood with each other and with the drowned U-boat sailors--former enemies of their country. As the men's marriages frayed under the pressure of a shared obsession, their dives grew more daring, and each realized that he was hunting more than the identities of a lost U-boat and its nameless crew.Author Robert Kurson's account of this quest is at once thrilling and emotionally complex, and it is written with a vivid sense of what divers actually experience when they meet the dangers of the ocean's underworld. The story of Shadow Divers often seems too amazing to be true, but it all happened, two hundred thirty feet down, in the deep blue sea.From the Hardcover edition.


Search Results Results 1 -20 of 83

  • You searched for:
  • ISBN (13): 9780375508585 (x)
  • Edit search
  • New search
  • Add to want list
1
Random House. Hardcover. 0375508589 Item in acceptable condition including possible liquid damage. As well, answers may be filled in. Lastly, may be missing components, e.g. missing DVDs, CDs, Access Code, etc. . Fair.

Bookseller: Good Deals On Used Books, Illinois, United States
Seller rating:

Price: $3.88

Shipping (US): FREE


2
Random House. Hardcover. 0375508589 Item in very good condition! Textbooks may not include supplemental items i.e. CDs, access codes etc... . Very Good.

Bookseller: Good Deals On Used Books, Illinois, United States
Seller rating:

Price: $3.88

Shipping (US): FREE


3
Random House. Hardcover. 0375508589 Item in acceptable condition! Textbooks may not include supplemental items i.e. CDs, access codes etc... . Fair.

Bookseller: Good Deals On Used Books, Illinois, United States
Seller rating:

Price: $3.88

Shipping (US): FREE


4
Random House. Hardcover. 0375508589 Item in very good condition! Textbooks may not include supplemental items i.e. CDs, access codes etc... . Very Good.

Bookseller: Good Deals On Used Books, Illinois, United States
Seller rating:

Price: $3.88

Shipping (US): FREE


5
Random House. Hardcover. 0375508589 Item in good condition. Textbooks may not include supplemental items i.e. CDs, access codes etc... . Good.

Bookseller: Good Deals On Used Books, Illinois, United States
Seller rating:

Price: $3.88

Shipping (US): FREE


6
Random House. Hardcover. 0375508589 Item in very good condition! Textbooks may not include supplemental items i.e. CDs, access codes etc... . Very Good.

Bookseller: Good Deals On Used Books, Illinois, United States
Seller rating:

Price: $3.88

Shipping (US): FREE


7
Random House Publishing Group, 2004. Hardcover. Acceptable. Disclaimer:A readable copy. All pages are intact, and the cover is intact. Pages can include considerable notes-in pen or highlighter-but the notes cannot obscure the text. The dust jacket is missing. At ThriftBooks, our motto is: Read More, Spend Less.

Bookseller: ThriftBooks, Washington, United States
Seller rating:

Price: $3.89

Shipping (US): FREE


8
Random House Publishing Group, 2004. Hardcover. Very Good. Disclaimer:A copy that has been read, but remains in excellent condition. Pages are intact and are not marred by notes or highlighting, but may contain a neat previous owner name. The spine remains undamaged. At ThriftBooks, our motto is: Read More, Spend Less.Dust jacket quality is not guaranteed.

Bookseller: ThriftBooks, Washington, United States
Seller rating:

Price: $3.89

Shipping (US): FREE


9
Random House Publishing Group, 2004. Hardcover. As New. Disclaimer:An apparently unread copy in perfect condition. Dust cover is intact; pages are clean and are not marred by notes or folds of any kind. At ThriftBooks, our motto is: Read More, Spend Less.Dust jacket quality is not guaranteed.

Bookseller: ThriftBooks, Washington, United States
Seller rating:

Price: $3.89

Shipping (US): FREE


10
Random House Publishing Group, 2004. Hardcover. Acceptable. Disclaimer:A readable copy. All pages are intact, and the cover is intact. Pages can include considerable notes-in pen or highlighter-but the notes cannot obscure the text. An ex-library book and may have standard library stamps and/or stickers. At ThriftBooks, our motto is: Read More, Spend Less.Dust jacket quality is not guaranteed.

Bookseller: ThriftBooks, Washington, United States
Seller rating:

Price: $3.89

Shipping (US): FREE


11
Random House. Hardcover. POOR. Noticeably used book. Heavy wear to cover. Pages contain marginal notes, underlining, and or highlighting. Possible ex library copy, with all the markings/stickers of that library. Accessories such as CD, codes, toys, and dust jackets may not be included.

Bookseller: Discover Books, Ohio, United States
Seller rating:

Price: $1.00

Shipping (US): $3.00


12
Random House. Used - Good. All orders guaranteed and ship within 24 hours. Your purchase supports More Than Words, a nonprofit job training program for youth, empowering youth to take charge of their lives by taking charge of a business.

Bookseller: More Than Words Inc., Massachusetts, United States
Seller rating:

Price: $1.00

Shipping (US): $3.00


13
Random House. Hardcover. 0375508589 . . Fair. 2004.

Bookseller: Orion LLC, Texas, United States
Seller rating:

Price: $4.67

Shipping (US): FREE


14
Good. [ No Hassle 30 Day Returns ][ Ships Daily ] [ Underlining/Highlighting: NONE ] [ Writing: None ]

Bookseller: BookHolders, Maryland, United States
Seller rating:

Price: $2.06

Shipping (US): $4.25


15
Random House. Used - Acceptable. Random House, 06/29/2004, Hardcover, Acceptable condition. Good dust jacket. Dampstained.

Bookseller: Wonder Book, Maryland, United States
Seller rating:

Price: $2.99

Shipping (US): $3.99


16
Random House. Used - Very Good. Very Good condition. Good dust jacket. Short gifter's inscription on endpage.

Bookseller: Wonder Book, Maryland, United States
Seller rating:

Price: $2.99

Shipping (US): $3.99


17

shadow divers

kurson, robert

Hard Cover. Random House 2004. The true adventure of two americans who risked everything to solve one of the last mysteries of World War II. Unless Listed in this decription, VG or Better.

Bookseller: Sixth Chamber Used Books/Fox Den Books, Wisconsin, United States
Seller rating:

Price: $3.99

Shipping (US): $3.49


18
Random House. Hardcover. 0375508589 Has some shelf wear, highlighting, underlining and/or writing. Great used condition. A portion of your purchase of this book will be donated to non-profit organizations. Over 1,000,000 satisfied customers since 1997! We ship daily M-F. Choose expedited shipping (if available) for much faster delivery. Delivery confirmation on all US orders. . Very Good.

Bookseller: The Book Cellar, New Hampshire, United States
Seller rating:

Price: $3.98

Shipping (US): $3.50


19
Random House. Hardcover. 0375508589 Great used condition. A portion of your purchase of this book will be donated to non-profit organizations. Over 1,000,000 satisfied customers since 1997! We ship daily M-F. Choose expedited shipping (if available) for much faster delivery. Delivery confirmation on all US orders. . Very Good.

Bookseller: The Book Cellar, New Hampshire, United States
Seller rating:

Price: $3.98

Shipping (US): $3.50


20
Random House. Hardcover. 0375508589 Hardcover in dustjacket, minor edge wear to jacket, solid binding and bright pages, a very nice copy! . Very Good. 2004.

Bookseller: Books Revisited, Minnesota, United States
Seller rating:

Price: $4.48

Shipping (US): $3.50

Sort


Search within these results

More search options


Filter by Price ($)


  • Filter by Condition

    • New (4)
    • Fine or New (16)
    • Very Good or better (50)
  • Filter by Attribute

    • Hardcover (64)
    • First Editions (18)
    • Signed (7)
    • With dust jacket (40)
    • With photos (13)
  • Filter by Country

    • United States (81)
    • United Kingdom (1)
    • Canada (1)

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • next

Didn't find what you're looking for?

Try adding this search to your want list. Millions of books are added to our site everyday and when we find one that matches your search, we'll send you an e-mail. Best of all, it's free.

Add to want list

Trustpilot