Skip to content

The Bridge to Belle Island

The Bridge to Belle Island Paperback - 2019

by Julie Klassen


From the publisher

After a humiliating mistake, lawyer Benjamin Booker resolves to never again trust a beautiful woman. When an old friend is killed, the senior partner isn't satisfied with Bow Street's efforts and asks Benjamin to investigate. Eager to leave London for a while, Benjamin agrees. Evidence takes him to a remote island on the Thames, a world unto itself, shrouded in mist and mystery. Soon he finds himself falling for the main suspect--a woman who claims not to have left the island in ten years. But should he trust her?

On Belle Island, Isabelle feels safe and leads a productive life, but fear keeps her trapped there. When Mr. Booker arrives with news of her trustee's murder in London, Isabelle is stunned. She has not left the island, yet she has a recurring dream about the man's death. Or is it a memory? She had been furious with him, but she never intended . . . this.

When a second person dies and evidence shockingly points to her, Isabelle doesn't know who to trust: the attractive lawyer or the admirer and friends who assemble on the island, each with grudges against the victim. Can she even trust her own mind? While they search for the truth, secrets come to light and danger comes calling.

From the rear cover

After a humiliating mistake, lawyer Benjamin Booker resolves to never again trust a beautiful woman. When an old friend is killed, the senior partner isn't satisfied with Bow Street's efforts and asks Benjamin to investigate. Evidence takes him to a remote island on the Thames, a world unto itself, shrouded in mist and mystery. Soon Ben finds himself falling for the main suspect--a woman who claims not to have left the island in ten years. But is he a fool to believe her?

On Belle Island, Isabelle Wilder feels safe and leads a productive life, but fear keeps her trapped there. When Mr. Booker arrives with news of her trustee's murder in London, Isabelle is stunned. She has not left the island, yet she has a recurring dream about the man's death. Or is it a memory?

When a second person dies and the evidence shockingly points to her, Isabelle doesn't know whom to trust: the attractive lawyer or the admirer and friends who assemble on Belle Island, each with grudges against the victim. Can she even trust her own mind? While they search for the truth, secrets come to light and danger comes calling.

"A lawyer and the prime suspect in a murder investigation come to trust one another in this gratifying romance from Klassen set in 19th-century London. . . . With its subtle faith elements, Klassen's evocative romance will appeal to fans of Jody Hedlund."--Publishers Weekly

This Regency novel is essentially a clever mystery with a subplot of sweet romance between the two protagonists. Klassen piles up clues, teasing us with a multitude of suspects with motives. . . . Throw in laudanum, dangerous smugglers, shady dealings, a flood, a violent storm and voilŕ adventure. The action-packed climax had me on the edge. The reveal of the killer came as a complete surprise."--Historical Novel Review

"A lawyer is sent to a secluded island to investigate a murder in this 19th-century-set gothic that will appeal to fans of Jane Eyre and Jane Austen."--Library Journal
***

Praise for Julie Klassen

"Klassen spins a tale of secrets and deception, coupled with unexpected plot twists and a swoon-worthy ending."--Library Journal starred review of The Painter's Daughter

"This mystery romance . . . is a gem for Regency and inspirational readers alike."--Bookpage on The Secret of Pembrooke Park

"A clever book that incorporates what readers love of Jane Austen, Downton Abbey and even a bit of Jane Eyre. The novel offers everything a historical romance reader looks for."--Historical Novels Review on The Maid of Fairbourne Hall

Details

  • Title The Bridge to Belle Island
  • Author Julie Klassen
  • Binding Paperback
  • Pages 400
  • Volumes 1
  • Language ENG
  • Publisher Bethany House Publishers
  • Date 2019-12-03
  • ISBN 9780764218194 / 0764218190
  • Weight 0.79 lbs (0.36 kg)
  • Dimensions 8.5 x 5.5 x 1.1 in (21.59 x 13.97 x 2.79 cm)
  • Themes
    • Chronological Period: 1800-1850
    • Cultural Region: British
    • Religious Orientation: Christian
  • Library of Congress subjects Historical fiction, Islands
  • Library of Congress Catalog Number 2019024670
  • Dewey Decimal Code 813.6

Media reviews

Citations

  • Publishers Weekly, 10/28/2019, Page 0

About the author

Julie Klassen loves all things Jane--Jane Eyre and Jane Austen. Her books have sold over a million copies, and she is a three-time recipient of the Christy Award for Historical Romance. The Secret of Pembrooke Park was honored with the Minnesota Book Award for Genre Fiction. Julie has also won the Midwest Book Award and Christian Retailing's BEST Award and has been a finalist in the RITA and Carol Awards. A graduate of the University of Illinois, Julie worked in publishing for sixteen years and now writes full time. She and her husband have two sons and live in a suburb of St. Paul, Minnesota. For more information, visit www.julieklassen.com.
Back to Top

More Copies for Sale

The Bridge to Belle Island: (An English Historical Regency Romance Mystery)
Stock Photo: Cover May Be Different

The Bridge to Belle Island: (An English Historical Regency Romance Mystery)

by Klassen, Julie

  • Used
  • Signed
Condition
UsedAcceptable
ISBN 13
9780764218194
ISBN 10
0764218190
Quantity Available
1
Seller
Brooklyn Park, Minnesota, United States
Seller rating:
This seller has earned a 4 of 5 Stars rating from Biblio customers.
Item Price
$1.99
$2.99 shipping to USA

Show Details

Description:
UsedAcceptable. Appears to have been signed by original author; signature is not authenticated or guaranteed Cover has some rubbing and edgewear. Access codes, CD's, and other accessories may not be included.
Item Price
$1.99
$2.99 shipping to USA
The Bridge to Belle Island: (An English Historical Regency Romance Mystery)
Stock Photo: Cover May Be Different

The Bridge to Belle Island: (An English Historical Regency Romance Mystery)

by Klassen, Julie

  • Used
Condition
UsedLikeNew
ISBN 13
9780764218194
ISBN 10
0764218190
Quantity Available
3
Seller
Blawnox, Pennsylvania, United States
Seller rating:
This seller has earned a 5 of 5 Stars rating from Biblio customers.
Item Price
$3.00
$3.99 shipping to USA

Show Details

Description:
UsedLikeNew. Never used! Light wear to corners/edges from shelving.
Item Price
$3.00
$3.99 shipping to USA
The Bridge to Belle Island
Stock Photo: Cover May Be Different

The Bridge to Belle Island

by Julie Klassen

  • Used
  • Paperback
Condition
Used - Good
Binding
Paperback
ISBN 13
9780764218194
ISBN 10
0764218190
Quantity Available
1
Seller
Youngtown, Arizona, United States
Seller rating:
This seller has earned a 5 of 5 Stars rating from Biblio customers.
Item Price
$4.25
$5.00 shipping to USA

Show Details

Description:
Bethany House Publishers, December 2019. Trade Paperback. Used - Good.
Item Price
$4.25
$5.00 shipping to USA
The Bridge to Belle Island: (An English Historical Regency Romance Mystery)
Stock Photo: Cover May Be Different

The Bridge to Belle Island: (An English Historical Regency Romance Mystery)

by Klassen, Julie

  • Used
  • Fine
  • Paperback
Condition
Used - Fine
Binding
Paperback
ISBN 13
9780764218194
ISBN 10
0764218190
Quantity Available
1
Seller
Pound, Wisconsin, United States
Seller rating:
This seller has earned a 4 of 5 Stars rating from Biblio customers.
Item Price
$4.88
$4.98 shipping to USA

Show Details

Description:
Paperback. Fine. Minor edge wear with black mark on bottom page edge, New Never Read book
Item Price
$4.88
$4.98 shipping to USA
Bridge to Belle Island
Stock Photo: Cover May Be Different

Bridge to Belle Island

by Julie Klassen

  • Used
  • Paperback
Condition
Used - Very Good - Trade
Binding
Paperback
ISBN 13
9780764218194
ISBN 10
0764218190
Quantity Available
1
Seller
Bountiful, Utah, United States
Seller rating:
This seller has earned a 5 of 5 Stars rating from Biblio customers.
Item Price
$5.00
$5.75 shipping to USA

Show Details

Description:
Bethany House Publishers, December 2019. Trade Paperback. Very Good - Trade. Stock photos may not look exactly like the book.
Item Price
$5.00
$5.75 shipping to USA
The Bridge to Belle Island: (An English Historical Regency Romance Mystery)
Stock Photo: Cover May Be Different

The Bridge to Belle Island: (An English Historical Regency Romance Mystery)

by Klassen, Julie

  • New
Condition
New
ISBN 13
9780764218194
ISBN 10
0764218190
Quantity Available
5
Seller
Blawnox, Pennsylvania, United States
Seller rating:
This seller has earned a 5 of 5 Stars rating from Biblio customers.
Item Price
$5.44
$3.99 shipping to USA

Show Details

Description:
New.
Item Price
$5.44
$3.99 shipping to USA
Bridge to Belle Island

Bridge to Belle Island

by Klassen

  • New
  • Paperback
Condition
New
Binding
Paperback
ISBN 13
9780764218194
ISBN 10
0764218190
Quantity Available
6
Seller
Westlake, Ohio, United States
Seller rating:
This seller has earned a 5 of 5 Stars rating from Biblio customers.
Item Price
$5.94
$3.95 shipping to USA

Show Details

Description:
Bethany House Publishers, 2019-12-03. Paperback. New. New with remainder mark. Buy multiples from our store to save on shipping.
Item Price
$5.94
$3.95 shipping to USA
Bridge to Belle Island

Bridge to Belle Island

by Klassen

  • Used
  • Paperback
Condition
Like New
Binding
Paperback
ISBN 13
9780764218194
ISBN 10
0764218190
Quantity Available
3
Seller
Westlake, Ohio, United States
Seller rating:
This seller has earned a 5 of 5 Stars rating from Biblio customers.
Item Price
$5.94
$3.95 shipping to USA

Show Details

Description:
Bethany House Publishers, 2019-12-03. Paperback. Like New. 0x0x0. New with remainder mark. Buy multiples from our store to save on shipping.
Item Price
$5.94
$3.95 shipping to USA
The Bridge to Belle Island
Stock Photo: Cover May Be Different

The Bridge to Belle Island

by Klassen, Julie

  • Used
  • Paperback
Condition
Used: Good
Binding
Paperback
ISBN 13
9780764218194
ISBN 10
0764218190
Quantity Available
1
Seller
HOUSTON, Texas, United States
Seller rating:
This seller has earned a 4 of 5 Stars rating from Biblio customers.
Item Price
$7.72
FREE shipping to USA

Show Details

Description:
Bethany House Publishers, 2019-12-03. Paperback. Used: Good.
Item Price
$7.72
FREE shipping to USA
The Bridge to Belle Island
Stock Photo: Cover May Be Different

The Bridge to Belle Island

by Klassen, Julie

  • Used
  • Paperback
Condition
Used:Good
Binding
Paperback
ISBN 13
9780764218194
ISBN 10
0764218190
Quantity Available
1
Seller
HOUSTON, Texas, United States
Seller rating:
This seller has earned a 4 of 5 Stars rating from Biblio customers.
Item Price
$11.79
FREE shipping to USA

Show Details

Description:
Bethany House Publishers, 2019-12-03. Paperback. Used:Good.
Item Price
$11.79
FREE shipping to USA