Reading Books

The Books of the Dune Series

We were introduced to the vast, sand-covered face of Arrakis when Frank Herbert published the novel Dune in 1965. Dune won the inaugural Nebula Award for Best Novel in 1965 and the 1966 Hugo Award, launching it into popular culture where it has become a fixture. The “Duniverse” has grown since then, being adapted into film, television, games, and considered one of the best-selling science fiction novels in history. There are even Dune-inspired names that have been given to plains and other land features on Titan, the moon of Saturn.

copies of Matt Griffin illustrated Dune for sale
Dune cover art from 2019 Matt Griffin illustrated edition

Although it is his most famous series, Frank Herbert wrote many novels outside of the Dune series. Before his death in 1986, he penned five more Dune novels, a few short stories, and even poems related to the series. He also left extensive notes and lore for his epic world. His son, Brian Herbert, joined efforts with author Kevin J. Anderson to contribute many more short stories and novels to the Dune series.

Each of the titles below should take you to the available copies of each title. If you want to browse by beautiful art, check out the copies illustrated by Sam Weber or John Schoenherr. If you want a truly comprehensive dive into collecting Dune, read Fear is the Mind Killer from BookThink.

Authored by Frank Herbert

1963-1964: parts of Dune are published in Analog as “Dune World”
1965: serial called “Prophet of Dune” published in Analog
1965: Dune
1969: Dune Messiah
1976: Children of Dune
1981: God Emperor of Dune
1984: Heretics of Dune
1985: Chapterhouse: Dune
1985: “The Road to Dune” short story

Authored by Brian Herbert & Kevin J. Anderson

1999: Dune: House Atreides
2000: Dune: House Harkonnen
2001: Dune: House Corrino
2001: “Dune: A Whisper of Caladan Seas
2002: Dune: The Butlerian Jihad
2002: “Dune: Hunting Harkonnens
2003: Dune: The Machine Crusade
2003: “Dune: Whipping Mek”
2004: Dune: The Battle of Corrin
2004: “Dune: The Faces of a Martyr
2006: Hunters of Dune
2006: “Dune: Sea Child
2006: “Dune: Treasure in the Sand
2007: Sandworms of Dune
2008: Paul of Dune
2008: “Dune: Wedding Silk
2009: The Winds of Dune
2012: Sisterhood of Dune
2014: Mentats of Dune
2016: Navigators of Dune
2016: “Dune: Red Plague
2017: “Dune: The Water of Kanly
2019: “Blood of the Sardaukar
2020: The Duke of Caladan


    • I suggest you contact several specialty bookstores. Leaving a message relating to a specific entry about Frank Herbert’s books is not going to serve you well. Check eBay also.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top