Sign In | Register
Art Out of Time: Unknown Comics Visionaries, 1900-1969 by  Dan Nadel - Signed First Edition - 2006 - from A&D Books and

Art Out of Time: Unknown Comics Visionaries, 1900-1969

by Nadel, Dan

Condition: See description

New York: Abrams, 2006. Hardcover. SIGNED. First edition, first printing. Fine hardcover in a Fine dust jacket with a bookstore's removable "signed" sticker to the front. All dust jackets are protected by a clear mylar cover. BOOKS SHIP THE NEXT BUSINESS DAY, WRAPPED IN PADDING, IN A BOX. "In five thematic sections, this anthology is a counter history of comics, containing 29 undiscovered visionary American cartoonists from 1900-1969. These artists, including Harry Grant Dart, Milt Gross, Charles M. Payne, Harry Hershfield, Gene Deitch, Jack Mendelsohn, and Charles Forbell, foreshadowed and influenced the comics medium of today." Also includes: Walter Quermann's Hickory Hollow Folks; Ogden Whitney's Herbie; Gustave Verbeek's The Upside-Downs of Little Lady Lovekins and Old Man Muffaroo; and Rory Hayes's horror stories from 1969's Bogeyman Comics among others. Written and edited by Dan Nadel. SIGNED BY NADEL on the title page; no inscription. 320 pages; color and b&w illustrations throughout; 8.25 x 11.25 inches. Biographies.


Review this book (Want a chance to win $50? Log-in or create an account first!) (You'll be automatically entered for a chance to win $50!)

Help & frequently asked questions


Some terminology that may be used in this description includes:
First Edition
In collecting, the first edition is the earliest published form of a book. A book may have more than one first edition in cases ...[more]
A book in fine condition exhibits no flaws. A fine condition book closely approaches As New condition, but may lack the crispne...[more]
Sometimes used as another term for dust jacket, a protective and often decorative wrapper, usually made of paper which wraps aro...[more]


$4.95 shipping to USA

More shipping options >

Nebula Award Winners of the 1970s

Collecting Nebula Award Winners of the 1970s

The Nebula Award has been awarded to stories in the Science Fiction and Fantasy genre every year since 1966. Learn about the winners of the 1970s!

A Brief Introduction to the History of Children’s Books

Collecting Children's Literature

Children's books are among some of the most popular themes to build a book collection on. Learn a bit more in our  Brief History of Children's Literature.