Skip to content

Chaos: Making a New Science

Chaos: Making a New Science

Chaos: Making a New Science
Stock Photo: Cover May Be Different

Chaos: Making a New Science Paperback - 2008

by Gleick, James

  • Used

The twentieth-anniversary edition of the million-copy-plusBestseller

THIS EDITION of James Gleick's groundbreaking bestsellerintroduces to a whole new readership the story of one of the mostsignificant waves of scientific knowledge in our time. By focusingon the key figures whose genius converged to chart an innovativedirection for science, Gleick makes the story of chaos theory not onlyfascinating but also accessible, and opens our eyes to a surprisingnew view of the universe.

UsedAcceptable

Description

UsedAcceptable. Condition: Used book in acceptable condition. Cover may include stickers/heavy wear. Heavy wear on pages, heavy highlighting/writing on pages, staining, and moisture damage (rippling/warping). All orders ship via UPS Mail Innovations - can take up to 14 business days from first scan to be delivered. Creasing, curling, bending of the covers. Frayed or tears in cover. Water damage & rippling of pages. The book is warped/bent
$4.88
$3.99 Shipping to USA
Standard delivery: 7 to 14 days
More Shipping Options
Ships from Goodwill Industries of the Inland Northwest (Washington, United States)

Details

  • Title Chaos: Making a New Science
  • Author Gleick, James
  • Binding Paperback
  • Edition ANV REP
  • Condition UsedAcceptable
  • Pages 384
  • Volumes 1
  • Language ENG
  • Publisher Penguin Books, New York
  • Date 2008-09-01
  • Illustrated Yes
  • Features Bibliography, Illustrated, Index, Price on Product - Canadian, Table of Contents
  • Bookseller's Inventory # 4J2UMU000MBF
  • ISBN 9780143113454 / 0143113453
  • Weight 1 lbs (0.45 kg)
  • Dimensions 8.5 x 5.5 x 1.2 in (21.59 x 13.97 x 3.05 cm)
  • Ages 18 to UP years
  • Grade levels 13 - UP
  • Reading level 1160
  • Library of Congress subjects Chaotic behavior in systems
  • Library of Congress Catalog Number 2009285057
  • Dewey Decimal Code 003.857

About Goodwill Industries of the Inland Northwest Washington, United States

Biblio member since 2023
Seller rating: This seller has earned a 5 of 5 Stars rating from Biblio customers.

Together, we create opportunities that change lives and strengthen communities.

Terms of Sale: 30 day return guarantee, with full refund including original shipping costs for up to 30 days after delivery if an item arrives misdescribed or damaged.

Browse books from Goodwill Industries of the Inland Northwest

Summary

The million-copy bestseller by National Book Award nominee and Pulitzer Prize finalist James Gleick that reveals the science behind chaos theory

National bestseller
More than a million copies sold

A work of popular science in the tradition of Stephen Hawking and Carl Sagan, this 20th-anniversary edition of James Gleick’s groundbreaking bestseller Chaos introduces a whole new readership to chaos theory, one of the most significant waves of scientific knowledge in our time. From Edward Lorenz’s discovery of the Butterfly Effect, to Mitchell Feigenbaum’s calculation of a universal constant, to Benoit Mandelbrot’s concept of fractals, which created a new geometry of nature, Gleick’s engaging narrative focuses on the key figures whose genius converged to chart an innovative direction for science. In Chaos,Gleick makes the story of chaos theory not only fascinating but also accessible to beginners, and opens our eyes to a surprising new view of the universe.

From the publisher

James Gleick was born in New York City in 1954. He worked for ten years as an editor and reporter for The New York Times, founded an early Internet portal, the Pipeline, and has written several books of popular science, including The Information: A History, a Theory, a Flood, which won the Pen/E. O. Wilson Literary Science Writing Award. He lives in Key West and New York.   

Categories

Media reviews

“ Fascinating . . . almost every paragraph contains a jolt.” The New York Times

“ Taut and exciting . . . a fascinating illustration of how the pattern of science changes.” The New York Times Book Review

“ Highly entertaining . . . a startling look at newly discovered universal laws.” Chicago Tribune

“ An awe-inspiring book. Reading it gave me that sensation othat someone had just found the light switch.” —Douglas Adams, author of The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy

Chaos is a feast.” The Washington Post Book World

Citations

  • Scitech Book News, 06/01/2009, Page 12

About the author

James Gleick was born in New York City in 1954. He worked for ten years as an editor and reporter for The New York Times, founded an early Internet portal, the Pipeline, and has written several books of popular science, including The Information: A History, a Theory, a Flood, which won the PEN/E. O. Wilson Literary Science Writing Award, and Time Travel: A History. He lives in Key West and New York.