Sign In | Register
EVEN THE BABE CAME TO PLAY - Small Town Baseball in the Dirty 30s by  Robert Ashe - Paperback - First Edition - 1991 - from W. Fraser Sandercombe and

EVEN THE BABE CAME TO PLAY - Small Town Baseball in the Dirty 30s

by Ashe, Robert

Condition: Very Good+

Halifax, Nova Scotia: Nimbus Publishing, 1991. 172 pp. Trade paperback format. Light edge and corner wear with a sticker ghost on the upper left of the front cover and a flat uncreased spine. Illustrated with black and white photographs. The Chapters are: 1930 - The One That Got Away; 1931 - The Climb to Number One; 1932 - Hat Pins, Hortons and a Hidden Ball; 1933 - Reign, Reign, Go Away; 1934 - The Year the Braves Came to Town; 1935 - The Break; 1936 - Baldy and the Babe; 1937 - Sweat Pea's Sweetest Swing; 1938 - Lefty Levels Liverpool; and 1939 - The End of the Line; followed by an index.. First Edition. Soft Cover. Very Good+. 8vo.


Review this book (Want a chance to win $50? Log-in or create an account first!) (You'll be automatically entered for a chance to win $50!)

Help & frequently asked questions


Some terminology that may be used in this description includes:
trade paperback
Used to indicate any paperback book that is larger than a mass-market paperback and is often more similar in size to a hardcover...[more]
First Edition
In collecting, the first edition is the earliest published form of a book. A book may have more than one first edition in cases ...[more]
The outer portion of a book which covers the actual binding. The spine usually faces outward when a book is placed on a shelf. A...[more]


$9.95 shipping to USA

More shipping options >

How to tell if a signature is real

How to tell if a signature is genuine

Author's signatures can undoubtedly increase the value of a rare book or first edition. The more scarce the book is, the more an autograph adds to its value. But how to tell if the signature is real? Find out how you can avoid common pitfalls in identifying an author's signature.

Nebula Award Winners of the 1970s

Collecting Nebula Award Winners of the 1970s

The Nebula Award has been awarded to stories in the Science Fiction and Fantasy genre every year since 1966. Learn about the winners of the 1970s!