Sign In | Register
No image available

Furiously Happy: A Funny Book About Horrible Things

by Lawson, Jenny

Condition: Fine/Fine


NY: Flatiron Books, 2015. (USA) 1st printing. No markings, Fine in Fine dust jacket. Boards, 325pp. An award winning humor writer explores her life-long bttle with depression and mental illness with candor and humour. (1.9 JM FO 16/a6. 1st. Hardcover. Fine/Fine. 8vo - over 7¾" - 9¾".

"Jenny made me laugh so hard I feared for my safety! I think that's how she was able to get past my defenses and make me feel more okay about myself." -Allie Brosh, author ofHyperbole and a Half For fans of David Sedaris, Tina Fey, and Mindy Kaling-the new book from Jenny Lawson, author of the #1New York Times bestseller LET'S PRETEND THIS NEVER HAPPENED... In LET'S PRETEND THIS NEVER HAPPENED, Jenny Lawson baffled readers with stories about growing up the daughter of a taxidermist. In her new book,FURIOUSLY HAPPY, Jenny explores her lifelong battle with mental illness. A hysterical, ridiculous book about crippling depression and anxiety? That sounds like a terrible idea. And terrible ideas are what Jenny does best. According to Jenny: "Some people might think that being 'furiously happy' is just an excuse to be stupid and irresponsible and invite a herd of kangaroos over to your house without telling your husband first because you suspect he would say no since he's never particularly liked kangaroos. And that would be ridiculous because no one would invitea herd of kangaroos into their house. Two is the limit. I speak from personal experience. My husband says thatnone is the new limit. I say he should have been clearer about that before I rented all those kangaroos." "Most of my favorite people are dangerously fucked-up but you'd never guess because we've learned to bare it so honestly that it becomes the new normal. Like John Hughes wrote inThe Breakfast Club, 'We're all pretty bizarre. Some of us are just better at hiding it.' Except go back and cross out the word 'hiding.'" Jenny's first book, LET'S PRETEND THIS NEVER HAPPENED, was ostensibly about family, but deep down it was about celebrating your own weirdness.FURIOUSLY HAPPY is a book about mental illness, but under the surface it's about embracing joy in fantastic and outrageous ways-and who doesn't need a bit more of that?


  • Bookseller: JWMah CA (CA)
  • Bookseller Inventory #: 75729
  • Title: Furiously Happy: A Funny Book About Horrible Things
  • Author: Lawson, Jenny
  • Format/binding: Hardcover
  • Book condition: Used - Fine
  • Jacket condition: Fine
  • Edition: 1st
  • Binding: Hardcover
  • ISBN 10: 1250077001
  • ISBN 13: 9781250077004
  • Publisher: Flatiron Books
  • Place: NY
  • Date published: 2015
  • Keywords: Journalists United States Biogrtaphy Depression Humour Humoritst Mental Illness Humor Self Help
  • Bookseller catalogs: Humour and Satire;
  • Size: 8vo - over 7¾" - 9¾"

Reviews

Review this book (Want a chance to win $50? Log-in or create an account first!) (You'll be automatically entered for a chance to win $50!)



Help & frequently asked questions


Glossary

Some terminology that may be used in this description includes:
fine
A book in fine condition exhibits no flaws. A fine condition book closely approaches As New condition, but may lack the...[more]
jacket
Sometimes used as another term for dust jacket, a protective and often decorative wrapper, usually made of paper which wraps...[more]

$14.99

$10.00 shipping to USA

More shipping options >





Harlem Renaissance

Collecting the Harlem Renaissance

One of the most influential - and certainly most iconic - cultural revolutions in American history, the Harlem Renaissance offers a compelling repertoire for both seasoned and novice book collectors. We've put together a beautiful gallery of high points to help start your collection here.

Collecting Dr. Seuss Books and Ephemera

Collecting Dr. Seuss

Whether you are into the pricey first editions or interesting Seussiana ephemera, this is a good starting point for building a book collection based on Dr. Seuss


Trustpilot