Sign In | Register
The Sacramento: River of Gold by Julian Dana - Signed First Edition - 1939 - from Uncommon Works, IOBA and

The Sacramento: River of Gold

by Julian Dana

Condition: Very Good +/missing

New York: Farrar & Rinehart, 1939. First edition. Hardcover. Very Good +/missing. J. O'H. Cosgrove II. A very good first edition, with date on the copyright page and the Farrar & Rinehart circular colophon on the copyright page, signed by the author with date (1939). Previous owner's name penned over front pastedown on the map title. Mild sunning to spine. Missing dust jacket. Beautiful illustrations including map endpapers by John O'Hara Cosgrove II. From The Rivers of America series, edited by Constance Lindsay Skinner. 294 numbered plus 13 unnumbered pp. Large duodecimo, 5 1/2 x 8 1/4 inches tall.


Review this book (Want a chance to win $50? Log-in or create an account first!) (You'll be automatically entered for a chance to win $50!)

Help & frequently asked questions


Some terminology that may be used in this description includes:
Copyright page
The page in a book that describes the lineage of that book, typically including the book's author, publisher, date of...[more]
The outer portion of a book which covers the actual binding. The spine usually faces outward when a book is placed on a shelf....[more]
The colophon contains information about a book's publisher, the typesetting, printer, and possibly even includes a printer's...[more]
Sometimes used as another term for dust jacket, a protective and often decorative wrapper, usually made of paper which wraps...[more]
First Edition
In collecting, the first edition is the earliest published form of a book. A book may have more than one first edition in cases...[more]


$3.99 shipping to USA

More shipping options >

Bayntun-Rivière Bindery

Learn about Bayntun-Rivière Binders

Are you enchanted by books clad in fine bindings? This is the gallery for you to peruse! Learn more about Bayntun, Rivière & Sons, and their combined work as Bayntun-Rivière. 

Nebula Award Winners of the 1970s

Collecting Nebula Award Winners of the 1970s

The Nebula Award has been awarded to stories in the Science Fiction and Fantasy genre every year since 1966. Learn about the winners of the 1970s!