Book Reviews and Recommendations

Recent customer book reviews and opinions on books

Trying to decide on what books to read next? We've got some ideas for you! Biblio customers and booksellers share their thoughts and opinions on books they've read and enjoyed... or not...

Sir Banister Fletcher's a History Of Architecture

by Sir Banister; Palmes, J C Fletcher

On Nov 27 2022, a reader said:
a reader rated this book 5 of 5 Stars.

This is an important reference for the articulated information of Architecture. Explanations and descriptions are the culmination of years of research from study to properly identify individual aspects for each period. A complete introspective listing characteristic qualifications of individual aspects which provide details that create patterns for anyone who is curious about architecture to the professional.

A Scatter Of Light

by Malinda Lo

On Nov 24 2022, a reader said:
a reader rated this book 5 of 5 Stars.

A Scatter of Light follows Aria West, a teenage girl who has just graduated from high school and who has been sent to stay with her grandmother for the summer after a humiliating incident involving nude pictures going viral. She is not happy about this change of summer plans, as she had hoped to spend the summer on Martha's Vinyard with her two best friends. Then she meets Steph, her grandmother's gardener, and Steph's friends, and discovers a part of herself that she had not known existed. Set during the summer that gay marriage was legalized in California, A Scatter of Light is a queer coming-of-age story with well-developed characters, difficult emotions and complex relationships. Themes explored are those of art, identity, sexuality, memory, grief and the passage of time. I loved the relationship between Aria and her artist grandmother Joan, who finds herself always making art about time. A Scatter of Light is quiet, bittersweet, devastating and beautifully written. What makes it even more powerful is that it is from the Aria's perspective ten years in the future. Although described as a companion novel to Last Night at the Telegraph Club, these books can be read as standalones. However, reading both allows one to see the evolution of LBGTQ+ rights between the 1950s and 2013 from the perspectives of members of the same family, and to feel the passage of time even more profoundly.

On Nov 20 2022, a reader said:
a reader rated this book 4 of 5 Stars.

A Trip with Trouble by Diane Kelly is the second A Mountain Lodge Mystery. It can be read as a standalone for those new to the series. I like Diane Kelly's writing style. It is casual and friendly. I was quickly drawn into A Trip with Trouble. I enjoyed the picturesque descriptions of the Mountaintop Lodge and the Blue Ridge Mountains in North Carolina. It sounds like a beautiful place to visit in the fall. Evidently, the Dangerous Curves Motorcycle Club thought so as well. They bought out the Mountaintop Lodge for the week to enjoy rides on the mountain roads and hikes on the trails. Unfortunately, one of the group ends up dead and Misty suspects foul play. Misty likes the motorcycle ladies and is determined to get justice for their fallen leader. I like Misty, Brynn, Rocky, Patty, and Yeti (Misty's cat). It has a good cast of characters. I am glad that the author gave us an older protagonist. Misty is fifty and recently divorced. She has two sons in college. Misty is smart, independent, resourceful, and good with people. This makes her a great innkeeper. I enjoy the chapters told from Yeti's point of view (I laugh often while reading them). Diane Kelly really captures a cat personality and antics. The mystery had several suspects which included a member or two of the Dangerous Curves and members of the victim's "family." I joined Misty as she set out to unravel the clues and find the victim's killer. I like that she worked with the police. A helpful deputy may have overshared just a touch. While I had a clue as to who was behind the murder, I still had fun following Misty. The author has provided developed, realistic characters that you want to get to know better. I felt transported to North Carolina in the autumn. There is a touch of romance. Misty likes Rocky, but she is not ready to start dating. They have casual dinners at home, chats, walks, and evenings in front of the fire. I was sorry for A Trip with Trouble to come to an end. I am looking forward to Misty's next adventure. A Trip with Trouble transports readers to the Blue Ridge Mountains with motorcycle mavens, falling leaves, greedy relatives, a hunky handyman, a scaredy cat, a fallen friend, a firebrand rider, and an indomitable innkeeper.

On Nov 20 2022, a reader said:
a reader rated this book 3 of 5 Stars.

The Premonition at Withers Farm by Jaime Jo Wright is a dual timeline novel. The book moves between 1910 and the present day. It is supposed to be a spooky, mysterious novel with dark overtones (it is at times and other times I thought it was overdone). The author created a dark atmosphere with the neglected farmhouse with gravestones used for part of the foundation. I struggled to get through the story. The writing style did not make the book easy to read (I found it awkward). I also did not like the characters (you know you do not like the characters when you hope the killer will get them). I did make it through the book to the end (chocolate was required). In 1910, a woman claims she can communicate with the dead and see spirits. In the present day, Molly begins to see things as well. The way it is written, you wonder if they are telling the truth or is there a more logical explanation. The mysteries can be solved before the end (one is a cinch to figure out). There is romance as well (just what you want in a spooky story). Molly and her husband, Trent have grown apart since her miscarriages. Trent is ready to move on, but Molly is still grieving. The two need to find a way back to each other (why not get back together while creepy and scary things are happening to you). As you can tell, The Premonition at Withers Farm was not for me. I suggest you download a sample to judge for yourself. The Premonition at Withers Farm is an eerie tale with a ramshackle farmhouse, a creepy cornfield, AWOL women, scary seances, a dead woman in a ditch, and a gravestone foundation.

The Sunbearer Trials

by Aiden Thomas

On Nov 17 2022, a reader said:
a reader rated this book 5 of 5 Stars.

The Sunbearer Trials is a fantasy inspired by Mexican mythology, set in the modern land of Reino del Sol, each of its cities governed by a different dios. The story follows Teo, the trans semidios son of Quetzal, Diosa of birds. Every ten years semidioses from all over the land compete in a series of dangerous trials to become the next Sunbearer, whose role is to carry light and energy to the Sol stones, which keep the selfish Obsidian dioses powerless and trapped in the stars. The loser of the trials is sacrificed so that the Sol stones can be replenished. In the history of Reino del Sol, the Gold semidioses have traditionally been the ones to compete in the trials; the Jades have typically been spared from competing. Teo is a Jade, and it is a major upset when he and another Jade semidios are chosen for the trials. Teo is mischievous, funny, impulsive, loyal and has a strong sense of justice. His goal in the trials is to survive with his Gold friend Niya and protect the younger Jade semidios who seems ill equipped for the intense competition. The characters are complex, flawed and well-developed, with incredibly diverse representation. The world building is lush and vividly described. I love the combination of ancient mythology and tradition integrated into a modern queernormative society. The trials are brutally difficult and suspenseful, each one escalating in danger, and will keep you reading late into the night. I absolutely loved and inhaled this incredible fantasy adventure story. The sequel can't come a moment too soon.

How To Survive Your Murder

by Danielle Valentine

On Nov 17 2022, a reader said:
a reader rated this book 4 of 5 Stars.

How to Survive Your Murder follows Alice, whose sister Claire was murdered in a Halloween corn maze one year ago. Since the death of her sister Alice's life has fallen apart. Alice is the only witness and is convinced she knows what happened. During the murder trial she hits her head in the bathroom and is suddenly transported back a year. She has only until midnight to figure out the truth behind Claire's murder. As the bodies pile up, Alice realizes that she did not know her friends and family as well as she had thought. Alice is a horror super nerd, so the slasher films of the 90s are referenced heavily, making this book both fun and nostalgic. I liked Alice's character and sense of humor. I loved the premise and all the twists and turns taken by the story. I did not guess the killer until close to the end. There were some glaring plot holes and an ending that was unsettling, but it is a horror novel, after all. How to Survive Your Murder is an entertaining, edge-of-your-seat horrorfest arriving just in time for the spooky season.

Arts Of Miracle

by Bimpe Gold-Idowu

On Nov 14 2022, a reader said:
a reader rated this book 5 of 5 Stars.

I read this book, it was so inspiring. It talks about different types of miracles and how we can receive each and even become a miracle worker. Yes I recommend it for other believers out there

Prey

by Michael Crichton

On Nov 6 2022, a reader said:
a reader rated this book 5 of 5 Stars.

Great book, once your in it you really don't want out. Great ending as well.

On Oct 31 2022, a reader said:
a reader rated this book 4 of 5 Stars.

Christmas Scarf Murder by Carlene O'Connor, Maddie Day, and Peggy Ehrhart contains three cute holiday themed cozy mysteries. All three stories are well-written and fit nicely into their respective series. I like how the Christmas scarf theme fits into each story. I thought Maddie Day had a clever method of murder. I wish there had been more investigating by Robbie Jordan in Scarfed Down. It was nice to catch up with Robbie, Abe, Sean, Adele, and the others. It was cute how Robbie and her staff were making dishes to go with The Twelve Days of Christmas. I like how Robbie was reading a new book by Becky Clark from A Crossword Puzzle Mysteries. The Christmas scene at the end was sweet. There is plenty of Christmas cheer in all three novellas. I enjoyed the first two stories more than Death by Christmas Day Scarf by Peggy Ehrhart. There are so many characters introduced in the beginning of the tale. I felt that the main character did not stand out especially with next to her dynamic best friend. The mystery was okay, but I find the way it was solved a little odd. Christmas Scarf Murder by Carlene O'Connor had an interesting mystery along with Christmas fun. It is a lively story which I liked. I like how the whodunit came together in the end. It can be read as a standalone along with Scarfed Down. I believe Death by Christmas Day Scarf is better for those who are familiar with A Knit and Nibble Mysteries. Christmas Scarf Murder has three charming Christmas cozies with sweater weather, festooned trees, wonderful waffles, copious knitting, a couple of curious crimes, and cheerful Christmas celebrations.

On Oct 30 2022, a reader said:
a reader rated this book 5 of 5 Stars.

Murder on the Poet's Walk by Ellery Adams takes us back to Storyton Hall where poets are in residence trying to win a contract with an up-and-coming greeting card company. Things take a turn when one of the frontrunners in the competition ends up dead. When a second poet ends up in a watery grave, Jane with help from her loyal staff sets out to expose the killer. As if Jane does not have enough on her plate, it appears that a valuable manuscript has gone missing from the secret room. Jane is baffled as to how someone could have discovered the way in. Jane needs to find the guilty party before the competition ends and the poets fly the coop. Murder on the Poet's Walk is a delight to read. I always enjoy my visits to Storyton Hall which is a paradise for booklovers. While Murder on the Poet's Walk is the eighth A Book Retreat Mystery, it can be read as a standalone. The author included all the background information that a new reader needs to know. I thought Murder on the Poet's Walk was well-written with developed characters. Jane, Edwin, Fitz, Hem, Aunt Octavia, Uncle Aloysius, the Fins, and the Cover Girls are back for another adventure. The author's descriptions bring Storyton Hall to life. I can envision the beautiful rooms especially the library and the secret room. The mystery is well done. I love a complex mystery with some good twists and turns along the way. I enjoyed the literary references throughout the story. There is a romantic scene at the end that will delight fans of the series. I was sorry when my trip to Storyton came to end. I have read every book in A Book Retreat Mysteries and each one is better than the last. Murder on the Poet's Walk is bibliophiles delight with a cutthroat competition, a watery sepulcher, an adroit discovery, a literary killer, a missing manuscript, an ill uncle, and a poetic penalty.

The Amish Matchmaker

by Amy Lillard

On Oct 30 2022, a reader said:
a reader rated this book 4 of 5 Stars.

The Amish Matchmaker by Amy Lillard is an amusing story. I chuckled often while reading this entertaining tale. I thought the story contained good writing with interesting characters. I loved Astrid who is confident and outgoing. She also has an unusual profession for an Amish woman. Imogene's twin boys, Mattie and Mahlon Yoder, were a hoot. They are ten years old and constantly getting into mischief. They kept the story lively. It was good to see the characters grow and become better people as a result of the meddling. Astrid learns a good life lesson that she will not soon forget. I liked that we get to see the importance of being pushed out of our comfort zone. It may be uncomfortable, but we are better for it in the end. I loved the epilogue that nicely wrapped up the book. This was a fun story about friendship, family, meddling, and mischievous twins. This is one of those feel-good stories that leaves you with a smile on your face when you finish it. I am looking forward to One More Time for Joy. The Amish Matchmaker is the second book in the Paradise Valley series. It can be read as a standalone, but you will be missing out. The Amish Matchmaker is a heartwarming, lighthearted tale with impish twins, writing troubles, a meddlesome matchmaker, a doggy dilemma, festival fun, and happy hearts.

On Oct 30 2022, a reader said:
a reader rated this book 5 of 5 Stars.

The Ballad of Lorianna by Christopher Laverty is a lovely collection of poetry written in a classical style, which, by the way, I happen to love. Poetry is such a personal thing because each poem is experienced differently by the reader. This collection is exceptional and it spoke to me in the most intimate way.

I read a lot of poetry. I host a daily poetry challenge on Litsy; therefore, I read several poems every day and I am exposed to a variety of styles and poets. Some I like and some I don't. However, this collection was so good there was not a single poem I did not enjoy reading. I did have favorites and those I read 4 or more times. That's how I know I love something… when I find myself being drawn back to it over and over again.

In particular, I appreciated that the poet did not make his verse over complex. The musings on life and the impression places and people leave on us shine through in these poems. There are a number of sonnets mixed in with longer and shorter verse. I liked the variety of length and subject. There is a hint of modern among the vintage which was a nice way to mix thing up a bit.

Here is a small taste to tempt you from Two Flowers: "Two kinds of flowers are in life's garden sown- The first are words and deeds that spread a name; For laurel wreaths and eulogies they're grown That blow such blossoms of the mind to fame."

If you love poetry this is a collection you don't want to miss. I read the entire collection twice and several poems multiple times and know I will return to often in the future.

Dewey Decimated

by Allison Brook

On Oct 28 2022, a reader said:
a reader rated this book 3 of 5 Stars.

Dewey Decimated is the sixth A Haunted Library Mystery. It can easily be read as a standalone if you are new to the series or if you have missed a book or two along the way. I found Dewey Decimated easy to read. The pacing, though, was on the slow side. It picks up in the latter half of the book. We follow Carrie as she goes about her day-to-day routine (big yawn). She goes to work with Smokey Joe, does her work, goes to lunch at the diner with best friend, dinner with her aunt and uncle, etc. It does get monotonous. Evelyn is back and she has a friend who needs help. I just love Evelyn. I am glad that we got to see more of her in this book. Her spirited friend causes some upheaval in the library as well as in the life of someone close to Carrie. The mystery involves a skeleton found wrapped in a blanket in the new library expansion as well as a current murder. The mysteries were straightforward. There are a couple of suspects in both cases along with some misdirection. I wish the solutions to both crimes had not been so obvious. Case details are repeated frequently throughout the story (I got it the first time; I do not need it repeated twelve times). Carrie does not begin investigating right away. She eventually begins sleuthing (what happened to the Carrie we met back in Death Overdue). A pushy reporter keeps nagging Carrie to team up with her to solve the case. I did not like how the reporter (Julie Theron) put down Lt. John Mathers. Both cases have a good wrap up at the end. Carrie is on the town council, and they are debating what to do with Seabrook Preserve. The preserve loses its sanctuary status in three months. There are three different proposals for the property. The debating is hot and heavy plus there is behind the scenes wheeling and dealing. The situation is discussed quite a bit throughout the story (which means a lot of repetition). The ending is sweet and hopeful. Dewey Decimated is a nice story (humdrum), but I felt it lacked some pizzazz. There needed to be more action and less about Carrie's daily activities. Dewey Decimated is a chilly tale with a fall festival, a discovered skeleton, a cuddly cat, a spirit surprise, a preserve dispute, a shocking murder, and a nervy reporter.

Bound By Murder

by Laura Gail Black

On Oct 28 2022, a reader said:
a reader rated this book 4 of 5 Stars.

Bound by Murder by Laura Gail Black is the third An Antique Bookshop Mystery. It can be read as a standalone for those new to the series. I like the author's writing style which makes the story easy to read. There is a great cast of characters that includes Jenna, Keith, Rita, Mason, and Jenna's adorable canine. The characters are friendly, realistic, relatable, and developed. I love Jenna's shop. It is a place where I could spend hours browsing through the shelves of books. I enjoyed the description of her wedding themed window display. Like Jenna, I am a fan of the Five Little Peppers and How They Grew by Margaret Sidney (I have a vintage copy of the book). The mystery gave us several suspects who could have done the deed. There is misdirection to lead armchair sleuths astray. I picked my guilty party out early and then joined Jenna on her investigation to see if I was right. There are various events that keep things lively as well as clues to help readers solve the crime. I enjoyed the tense reveal. There is mild foul language in the book (just a little bit). There is romance in the story. Jenna is dating Detective Keith Logan. Their relationship is progressing nicely, but the road to happily ever after does have a few potholes. Mason, Jenna's shop manager, is smitten with Lily Monahan who works at The Weeping Willow. I enjoyed reading Bound by Murder, and I am looking forward to returning to Hokes Folly in the next An Antique Bookshop Mystery. Bound by Murder is an entertaining tale with a frustrating ex-fiancé, a cuddly canine, a bridezilla with her band of bridesmaids, a wasted witch, a furtive fire, a smitten store manager, and a distressing discovery.

On Oct 26 2022, a reader said:
a reader rated this book 4 of 5 Stars.

Murder in a Cape Cottage by Maddie Day is an enjoyable cozy mystery that transports readers to Cape Cod. I thought Murder in a Cape Cottage was well-written. The main characters are realistic and developed. I love Mac's grandmother and her African Gray parrot, Belle. I enjoyed the descriptions of the town with its cozy shops and the quaint homes. I like Tim's (and now Mac's) carriage house (a hundred-year-old home). Mac and Tim are busy getting ready for their wedding which is in a few days on New Year's Eve. Mac is fortunate to have her best friend, Gin and her mother taking care of all the details. The mystery was unique. Mac and Tim want a bathroom attached to the master. They are going to demolish a closet and a storage room for the purpose. When they break through the lath and plaster, they find a skeleton. The skeleton sitting in a chair and wearing a wedding dress. Someone wanted to make sure the unfortunate soul could not get out because they tied her hands behind her back and fastened a chain to a ring on the wall. Mac feels for the woman who never got to marry her sweetheart. Mac with help from the cozy capers book group looks into the crime. I thought the mystery was an easy one to solve but I enjoyed joining Mac as she asked questions and dug for clues. I like where information was discovered (spoilers) that helped Mac solve the case. There are two secondary mysteries as well. The skeleton bride's groom has not been seen either (since 1940s). Mac wonders if he did the deed, or did he flee town. There are robberies happening to the shops in town. Who is behind the thefts? The mystery is just the distraction Mac needs to keep her mind off the wedding. There is a good wrap up at the end. Murder in a Cape Cottage is the fourth A Cozy Capers Book Group Mystery. It can be read as a standalone for those new to the series or if you have missed a book along the way (like me). There is repetition of case details. Mac will get information and then she shares it with various individuals. I thought the ending was sweet. I like books that leave me smiling. I loved the mention of Krista Davis's A Pen & Ink Mysteries. There is a shout out for Lucy Burdette's A Key West Food Critic Mysteries as well. There are recipes at the end for items made in the story (not by Mac). Murder in a Cape Cottage charming cozy with a chatty parrot, discontinued demolition, a butchered bride, a bevy of burglaries, a flower girl dilemma, and New Year merrymaking.

Seams Like Murder

by Dorothy Howell

On Oct 24 2022, a reader said:
a reader rated this book 3 of 5 Stars.

Seams Like Murder by Dorothy Howell is the debut of A Sewing Studio Mystery series. I found the story easy to read. While we get to know some details about our main character, I felt the others lacked development. The story is told in the first person which has readers privy to all of Abbey's thoughts (the job in LA, bakery smells good, when will she get her car back, and the hunky deputy sheriff is so cute). The pacing of the story picks up late in the second half when Abbey begins questioning people. The whodunit was straightforward. A woman is run over in an alley. Sheriff Grumman believes it is an accident despite the statement from the eyewitness. He does believe her when she tells him it was a white car which has him focusing on Abbey's car. I found this baffling since she was new to town, did not know the victim, and was inside the bakery at the time of the incident. The rude and idiotic Sheriff Grumman then impounds Abbey's car without a warrant (I know it is fiction but come on). Identifying the killer is a cinch. There might as well as been a neon arrow with killer on it pointing at the person. The why was easy to deduce. Abbey went around asking questions. All the pieces come together for Abbey in the end. I did feel there was a little too much romance. I wish the author had let Abbey and Zach (the deputy sheriff) become friends and then as the series progresses work towards romance. Instead, Abbey finds him attractive, her heart beats faster at the sight of him, his touch sends zings through her system, and so on. There is some repetition as well as some mild foul language. There was a lot of focus on pillowcase dresses which were being made for children in Africa (Little Dresses for Africa). It was interesting learning about the cause and how the dresses are assembled. There are instructions and tips at the end of the book. Seams Like Murder is a crafty cozy with a plowed down librarian, a disagreeable sheriff, scrumptious cookies, a sewing studio, a confiscated car, a striking deputy sheriff, darling dresses, and a fun festival.

A Match Made At Christmas

by Patricia Davids

On Oct 22 2022, a reader said:
a reader rated this book 4 of 5 Stars.

A Match Made at Christmas by Patricia Davids is a heartwarming Amish tale. It is the second novel in The Matchmakers of Harts Haven series. It can be read as a standalone. However, I recommend reading the entertaining The Inn at Harts Haven. I thought A Match Made at Christmas was well-written with steady pacing. Rose Yoder has that gleam in her eye again. Sophie Eicher and her sister, Joanna are new to Harts Haven. Sophie has been hired as the new schoolteacher. She wanted to get away from her hometown because she could not stand the looks of pity. Sophie is a breast cancer survivor. She beat the odds, but Sophie does not believe it. She wants to make sure her sister, Joanna is happily settled before she dies. Rose comes up with a clever scheme to match Sophie with widower Karl Graber. Karl has two young daughters as well as his farm and the hardware store. He needs help, but Karl is not ready to open his heart again. This was a cute story. There is some repetition of details. I enjoyed catching up with Abby and Joseph Troyer from The Inn at Harts Haven. I liked the characters in this story. There is a close-knit community. They help each other out as well as spread gossip. The school Christmas pageant was entertaining. I liked the theme and how they went about creating the props they needed. It was wonderful how the play captured the true meaning of Christmas. Love has the power to heal if you let it. That is what we get to experience in A Match Made at Christmas. There is humor sprinkled throughout that will have you chuckling. I am looking forward to the next story in The Matchmakers of Harts Haven series. A Match Made at Christmas is a lively Christmas tale with a meddling matchmaker, galloping goats, a delightful dog, burned bread, a determined donkey, pageant problems, and a cozy Christmas.

On Oct 22 2022, a reader said:
a reader rated this book 4 of 5 Stars.

An Amish Christmas Star by Shelley Shepard Gray, Charlotte Hubbard, and Rosalind Lauer contains three heartwarming novellas. I enjoyed each one of these charming holiday tales. They are well-written and engaging. They remind us of the true meaning of Christmas. I like stories where there are Christmas miracles. I enjoyed returning to Promise Lodge in Star of Wonder by Charlotte Hubbard. Lizzie was a delightful character. I loved her enthusiasm and her style of dress. Those who have read the Promise Lodge stories will want to see what happens in this novella. I love how the author brought about the Christmas miracle. Buggies, Trains, and Automobiles by Shelley Shepard Gray is a cute story. I laughed several times while reading this one. John and Ellie are trying to get home. Their journey was certainly unique. I like to think that they are truly good people out there who would help people in need. Starlight Everlasting by Rosalind Lauer is a touching story. I enjoyed the descriptions of the Christmas shop with the picket fence and manager. I like how the faith element was worked into each story. I enjoyed the star theme and how it was presented in each novella. These sweet stories are full of hope, determination, love, and the most important, faith. God will truly show us the right path to take if we let him. An Amish Christmas Star has three touching tales with raucous rock, candy bar repasts, curious clothing, a speedy scooter, a bad-mannered bishop, work woes, sparkling stars, and happily ever afters.

The Road To Christmas

by Sheila Roberts

On Oct 21 2022, a reader said:
a reader rated this book 4 of 5 Stars.

The Road to Christmas by Sheila Roberts is a sweet holiday novel. I look forward to reading Sheila Roberts' latest Christmas story each year. The Road to Christmas has family members traveling to Idaho for Christmas. Julia, Max and Michelle's youngest daughter, has invited everyone to her new home for the holidays. Max and Michelle are traveling from Washington. It is guaranteed to be a tense trip since the two have been sniping at each other and are weeks away from separating forever. Hazel and Warren, Julia's grandparents, are traveling from Oregon. The trip gets off to a messy start. Audrey and Shyla, Julia's sisters, are traveling from California. A flat tire turns into an unexpected blessing for the sisters. I thought the story was well-written with steady pacing. The characters and situations were realistic. I could picture each of the incidents happening to me or one of my family members (one was similar to an experience I had one year). I enjoyed the beautiful descriptions of Leavenworth, Washington. It is a picturesque town during the holidays. I loved the ending which had me smiling. The Road to Christmas shows us how "mishaps can turn into golden opportunities." This is a story that will get you in the mood for the holidays (is September too early to put up the Christmas tree). The Road to Christmas is about family, forgiveness, second chances, and happiness. There is nothing better than a story that makes you laugh. The Road to Christmas is a special holiday tale with a holiday invite, squabbling sisters, a snowstorm shut down, parent problems, ticker troubles, a car misfortune, and red velvet lava.

Mizanu'l Azhar

by Mehmed Efendi Lalezari

On Oct 21 2022, a reader said:
a reader rated this book 5 of 5 Stars.

Beatiful book for turkish people

The Narrows

by Mark Zvonkovic

On Oct 20 2022, a reader said:
a reader rated this book 5 of 5 Stars.

MY THOUGHTS ON THIS BOOK

#iReadBookTours 

Junior high teacher Larry Brown wants to help his cousin get out of a cult he is in but things didn't go quite like the teacher expected. His cousin wasn't so sure he wanted out of the cult as of then. Larry is wrapped up in all of the changes and challenges of the 1970's, trying to figure his own life out while being concerned about his cousin and all of the cults he could soon be involved, because after all, the 1970's is the decade of the cults, or so it always seemed to me.

I like the way Zvonkovic creates his characters and grows them in the story as it unfolds. I think the characters are very life like, playing their parts in the story well, making the plot flow smoothly and enjoyable. I enjoyed slipping back to the '70's for a while, refreshing my memories of what took place. And I learned a few things too while reading, especially about cults, which I knew next to nothing about. I do now have a better understanding of how and why they exist, and I find it sad that people resort to cults. Another interesting thing is, The Narrows spreads across only ten days, so it's a pretty quick read, except I kept going back and re-reading parts so it took me longer. The Narrows is Book Two in The Raymond Hatcher Stories Series by Mark Zvonkovic, who I think is a very good writer. If you enjoy stories set in the 1970's and want a story about the happenings in that era, I think you will enjoy this one. Five Stars is my Rating for The Narrows.

A special thanks to the author/publisher for a copy of this book. I am not required to write a positive review, the opinions here are mine alone. I am disclosing this with my review in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255.

The Stand

by Stephen King

On Oct 10 2022, a reader said:
a reader rated this book 5 of 5 Stars.

Best book I ever read.. wasn't long enough

Anna's Amish Fears Revealed

by Tracy Fredrychowski

On Oct 7 2022, a reader said:
a reader rated this book 4 of 5 Stars.

Anna's Amish Fears Revealed by Tracy Fredrychowski is the third book in The Amish Women of Lawrence County series. Each book in the series can be read on its own, but you will get the full experience if you read them in order. The main character, Anna has had difficulties since her fiancé, Simon Kauffman took off a few days before their wedding. Her fears are now ruling her life. Stress, worry, doubt, hopelessness, and anxiety cause Anna to have panic attacks when she goes out in public or encounters people in the yarn shop, she owns with her sister. Anna's difficulties have worsened since Simon has returned to Willow Springs. Anna needs to turn her worries over to God and let Him guide her. Simon has returned to his hometown and plans on becoming a baptized member of the New Order Fellowship. He has a goal he needs to accomplish within six months and part of his plan includes Anna. He wants to speak to Anna and explain things to her. He finds it challenging since she keeps running from him. As Simon's mother reminds him, it will happen in God's timing, not his. Simon needs to be patient and pray. We get to catch up with Emma and Rebecca from the first two books in the series. The Amish community is divided since some members left the Old Order Amish and joined the New Order Fellowship. Anna and her siblings worry about their father, but they are unable to speak with him since they were put under the bann for joining the New Order Fellowship. We follow the characters as they work through their troubles with help from family, friends, and God. We get to see Anna, Simon, and others as they struggle with their faith. It is hard to be patient and to turn over our worries to Him. The story shows the importance of having a solid spiritual base, to study The Bible, and the power of prayer. We also see the value of having a loving family, friends who share your faith, and a caring community. I like the author's writing style. I did feel the pacing was a little slow and there is a repetition of key details. I did feel the faith message was a little strong (bordering on preachy). I appreciated the epilogue that nicely wrapped up the various storylines. Anna's Amish Fears Revealed is an inspirational tale that will touch your heart.

On Oct 4 2022, a reader said:
a reader rated this book 4 of 5 Stars.

The Ghost and the Stolen Tears by Cleo Coyle is the eighth A Haunted Bookshop Mystery. It can be read as a standalone for those new to the series. The author does a great job at giving an introduction to Penny, Jack, and their situation. We return to Quindicott, Rhode Island where a guest at the local bed and breakfast claims that a valuable necklace and its matching earrings were stolen. All the evidence points to the maid who is on the lam. Penny knows there is no way Norma, the maid, would have stolen jewelry. Penny with help from her dashing ghost, PI Jack Shepard set out to learn the truth. I like that there are really two cases in the story. One set in the present and one in the past. The past case is one that Jack took on while he was still alive. I like how the two cases tied together. I must say that the flashback scenes (Penny gets to see what happened in the past in her dreams thanks to Jack) are my favorite. I love the slang from that era. I had fun following Jack and Penny as they questioned people and searched for clues. One mystery is easier to solve than the other. I enjoyed the humor sprinkled through the story. Jack is especially amusing. His moral compass is skewed which gives him a different way of looking at matters. The authors descriptions really bring the scenes alive especially those from the past. I enjoyed my visit to Quindicott, and I was sorry to see it end. I look forward to traveling to Quindicott again in The Ghost Goes to the Dogs. The Ghost and the Stolen Tears is a killer diller with a dreamboat detective, gems worth a lot of clams, a maid who took a powder, a good luck Penny, cockeyed clues, a pain in the neck insurance investigator, and a dishy dame.