Sign In | Register

Book reviews from WarriorNY

New York United States

Number of reviews: 35
Average review: star star star star

star star star star star

Ugly Princess and The Wise Fool


Reviewed on Nov 30 2011

Margaret Gray's first novel is a very cute and delightful original fairy tale. There is a prequel about Rose's parents called The Lovesick Saleman but it is not as good as this one.

Respond to this review or add your own



star star star star star

Bruce Coville's Book Of Ghosts


Reviewed on Nov 30 2011

A wonderful collection of twelve short stories about ghosts. The first story is a new tale starring the main characters of three Bruce Coville books. The only one I didn't like very much was Mary Downing Hahn's story.

Respond to this review or add your own



no image star star star star star

Sarah's Unicorn


Reviewed on Nov 30 2011

A charming tale about a girl and a unicorn with very beautiful illustrations by the author's wife. There is a sequel Sarah and the Dragon but I have not read it because that book is extremely rare.

Respond to this review or add your own



star star star star star

The Golden Dream Of Carlo Chuchio


Reviewed on Nov 30 2011

This book was a fitting end to Lloyd Alexander's career. It has all of the adventure and comedy and romance we have all come to expect from a Lloyd Alexander book.

Respond to this review or add your own



no image star star star star star

Rapunzel's Revenge


Reviewed on Nov 30 2011

This was the very first graphic novel I ever read. It is a retelling of Rapunzel set in the Wild West about a red haired Rapunzel who rescues herself...and many others. I didn't really like the sequel Calamity Jack.

Respond to this review or add your own



star

Bazil Broketail


Reviewed on Nov 30 2011

This is an awful book. The author drags out a simple princess rescue story by loading it with sex and violence. A GOOD book puts the focus on an actual plot and engaging characters.

Respond to this review or add your own



star star star star star

The Legend Of Luke


Reviewed on Nov 30 2011

This is one of the best books in the Redwall series. We finally learn what happened to Martin the Warrior's father Luke after he goes on his quest for revenge. This is a fantastic book!

Respond to this review or add your own



no image star star star

Rumble In the Jungle


Reviewed on Nov 30 2011

Donkey Kong and Diddy must rescue their kidnapped friend Funky from the Kremlings. I am a DK fan so I brought this book for 25 cents from a thrift store...and that is the perfect price for such a slim paperback.

Respond to this review or add your own



no image star

Teenage Mermaid


Reviewed on Nov 30 2011

A modern day version of the classic tale The Little Mermaid is a good idea...but the author messed it up badly. The writing was stupid and awful.

Respond to this review or add your own



star

The Wizard, the Witch and Two Girls From Jersey


Reviewed on Nov 30 2011

I was expecting this book to be a clever and funny parody of the fantasy genre...but it was just stupid and it wasn't funny at all. The only thing I liked about it was all of the references to other books.

Respond to this review or add your own



star star star star star

The Dragon and The Unicorn


Reviewed on Nov 29 2011

A beautifully illustrated picture book with a wonderful environmental message. Lynne Cherry's own lovely art highlights the story of Allegra the unicorn, Valerio the dragon and Princess Arianna.

Respond to this review or add your own



no image star star star star star

Aloha Summer


Reviewed on Nov 29 2011

This is one of Bill Wallace's best works. It is a charming story of a boy in 1925 who moves from Oklahoma to Hawaii and becomes friends with a native girl.

Respond to this review or add your own



no image star star star star star

Dream-Of-Jade


Reviewed on Nov 29 2011

A clever and beautiful cat named Dream-of- Jade gives Emperor Kwan-Yu of China friendship and advice in this gorgeous picture book of five different stories.

Respond to this review or add your own



no image star star star star star

Fortune's Journey


Reviewed on Nov 29 2011

This book is very different from Bruce Coville's other books...but I think it is one of his best works. It does not have have ghosts or aliens or monsters but is it is a well-written adventure/romance story.

Respond to this review or add your own



star star star star star

Child Of the Wolves


Reviewed on Nov 29 2011

A Husky puppy named Granite is adopted into a wolf pack...but not all the members of the pack are welcoming. This is a wonderful book about Granite's struggles to become accepted by his new family.

Respond to this review or add your own



star

Harry Potter and The Half-Blood Prince


Reviewed on Nov 29 2011

AWFUL book! The characters did not act like teenagers...they acted like very spoiled pre-schoolers! I hated this book in this overrated series.

Respond to this review or add your own



star

Brisingr


Reviewed on Nov 29 2011

I HATED this boring and bloated book. Note to Christopher Paolini: You do not need to give every little event in a book its own chapter! Nobody cares about dwarf politics!

Respond to this review or add your own



no image star

Inheritance


Reviewed on Nov 29 2011

This terrible book suffers from the same problem as the last one...every unimportant event had to take a whole chapter. There is no need to have a dialogue between two characters take an entire chapter or waste time on stupid details like a very minor character's cleft palette surgery.

Respond to this review or add your own



star

Harry Potter and The Order Of the Phoenix


Reviewed on Nov 29 2011

This book would have been half as long if J.K. Rowling would have cut out hundreds of pages of Harry being whiny and Umbridge being a witch that starts with B. Harry is whiny and Umbrudge is evil....um...we get it, Rowling?

Respond to this review or add your own



no image star star star star star

Deltora Quest Complete Boxed Set, Books 1-8


Reviewed on Nov 29 2011

This is a very entertaining series. It is packed with riddles and plot twists and plenty of action. I recommend this to anyone who likes to read fantasy adventure books.

Respond to this review or add your own



star star star star star

The Ravenmaster's Secret


Reviewed on Nov 29 2011

This is a wonderful historical fiction tale. It takes place in London in 1735 and is a fast paced adventure story about courage and friendship.

Respond to this review or add your own



star star

Age Of Aquariums


Reviewed on Nov 29 2011

This book has its own goofy version of the legend of the lost city of Atlantis. I have it since it was new in 1999...and even though I am never going to read it again I can't bear to give it away.

Respond to this review or add your own



star star star star star

Cat Master


Reviewed on Nov 29 2011

Buddy the cat must confront his evil brother Jett to gain the title of Cat Master, the spirtual leader of all felines. This is a really good book.

Respond to this review or add your own



no image star star star star star

Malu's Wolf


Reviewed on Nov 29 2011

This is the author's version of how wolves became the friends of our ancestors...and the ancestors of all dogs. This is the only book Ruth Craig ever wrote and that is a shame. I would have loved to read other books from her!

Respond to this review or add your own



star star star star star

Tailchaser's Song


Reviewed on Nov 29 2011

This is Tad William's first novel and it was published when he was just 24. It is the story of a tomcat who goes in search of his missing friend. It starts off light hearted but gets darker and more intense as it goes on. This is a very worthy read.

Respond to this review or add your own



star star star star star

The Adventures Of King Midas


Reviewed on Nov 29 2011

A retelling of the story of King Midas. This is an adorable and enjoyable story. Midas and a young dragon go on a quest to remove Midas's golden touch after he turns his daughter into a gold statue.

Respond to this review or add your own



no image star

I Live In Your Basement!


Reviewed on Nov 29 2011

HORRIBLE! This book was a total waste of time and a total waste of paper. I am serious, people...this book was THAT bad! Avoid it at all costs!

Respond to this review or add your own



star star star star star

Let's Get Invisible!


Reviewed on Nov 29 2011

This was my favorite book when I was in grade school. It is one of the best books in the Goosebumps series. It has a very original storyline.

Respond to this review or add your own



no image star star star star

They Said It


Reviewed on Nov 29 2011

A cute little book. It is illustrated by Patrick McDonnell four years before he created the world famous comic strip Mutts. The quotes and the full color drawings are amusing.

Respond to this review or add your own



star star star star star

Incredible Journey


Reviewed on Nov 28 2011

The Incredible Journey really is an incredible book. It is a simple story but Sheila Burnford conveys so much beauty into a mere 145 pages. The friendship of Luath, Bodger and Tao and their amazing trek to return home will touch your heart.

Respond to this review or add your own



star

The Road To Balinor


Reviewed on Nov 28 2011

This is an awful book. The unicorns are no more than pretty ponies with horns on their heads. The writing was clunky.The ending was not even an ending...it just stopped. DO NOT waste your time on this terrible book!

Respond to this review or add your own



star star star star star

Monkey


Reviewed on Nov 28 2011

Journey to the West is a classic Chinese epic. This is a short version of the tale. The Money King and his four companions go on a magical quest to get holy scriptures from India. This is a fun adventure story.

Respond to this review or add your own



star star star star star

The Best Of Mutts


Reviewed on Nov 28 2011

Mutts is my favorite comic strip ever and this book is a must have for any fan. It features many strips from 1994 to 2004 and itroductions to each different year by Patrick McDonell.

Respond to this review or add your own



star star star star star

Thief Of Kalimar


Reviewed on Nov 28 2011

Graham Diamond does not focus on sex and violence but on the plot and characters...and that is how a fantasy novel for adults should always be written. Ramagar and his companions must save their land from evil. It is a shame that this great book isn't a very well known one.

Respond to this review or add your own



no image star star star star star

Bitten


Reviewed on Nov 28 2011

This two book series is one of R.L. Stine's best works. The omnibus edition of Dangerous Girls and The Taste of Night is almost 600 pages but it is a fun and fast paced read.

Respond to this review or add your own