Sign In | Register | Help

Book reviews from fireflower537

New York United States

Number of reviews: 102
Average review: star star star star

star star star star star

Poppy

by Avi


Reviewed on Apr 21 2014

The first book of The Tales of Dimwood series and the first Avi book I ever read. There is one prequel and four sequels. It is a very cute series.

Respond to this review or add your own



star star star star star

The House of the Scorpion

by Nancy Farmer


Reviewed on Apr 20 2014

A thrilling and powerful story. A great read whether or not you like Sci-Fi. Avoid the sequel. It is nowhere near as good as the first book and there was no need to continue Matt's story.

Respond to this review or add your own



no image star

The Lord of Opium

by Nancy Farmer


Reviewed on Apr 20 2014

The disappointing and unnecessary sequel to The House of the Scorpion. Most of the book was nothing but Matt exploring his country of Opium!

Respond to this review or add your own



star

Fool's Run

by Patricia A. McKillip


Reviewed on Apr 20 2014

The author's only adult sci-fi novel is NOT worth reading. It is terrible. Read her fantasy books and her two YA sci-fi books instead of Fool's Run. You will be glad you did.

Respond to this review or add your own



star

When You Reach Me

by Rebecca Stead


Reviewed on Apr 20 2014

I did not like this book. Most of it was grade school drama and I could care less about the "problems" of children.

Respond to this review or add your own



star star star

The Hunger Games

by Suzanne Collins


Reviewed on Apr 20 2014

I feel this is a very overrated series. If Gale was a GAIL nobody would care about it. It also focused way too much on the violence.

Respond to this review or add your own



no image star star star star star

One Dog and His Boy

by Eva Ibbotson


Reviewed on Apr 20 2014

This is one of Ibbotson's best books. The dogs don't talk but they are still three dimensional characters.

Respond to this review or add your own



star star star star

Mutts: The Comic Art of Patrick McDonnell

by Patrick McDonnell


Reviewed on Apr 19 2014

A look at the early career and the start of Mutts. It is my favorite comic strip ever and this is a great book for any Mutts fan.

Respond to this review or add your own



no image star star star star star

Toads and Diamonds

by Heather Tomlinson


Reviewed on Apr 19 2014

A wonderful fairy tale re-telling set in pre-Colonial India. It is so refreshing to read a fantasy that is not set a quasi Middle Ages Europe.

Respond to this review or add your own



star star star

Monster of the Year

by Bruce Coville


Reviewed on Apr 19 2014

This is a cute and funny book about an unsual contest but it does have spelling and grammar mistakes. You will never guess who wins Monster of the Year!

Respond to this review or add your own



no image star star star star

Always October

by Bruce Coville


Reviewed on Apr 19 2014

This is Bruce Coville's 100th published book. It is an amusing comical adventure about two kids who must save the human world and the world of monsters Always October.

Respond to this review or add your own



no image star

Why We Broke Up

by Daniel Handler


Reviewed on Apr 19 2014

I hated this book. The 16 year old girl talked like a 40 year old college professor. There were countless references to movie stars and movies that don't exist. The central relationship. did not even last two months!

Respond to this review or add your own



star star star

Castaways of the Flying Dutchman

by Brian Jacques


Reviewed on Apr 19 2014

The best part of the book was when it took place on the Flying Dutchman. Unfortunately that was only the first 50 pages, The plot then becomes a search for a document.

Respond to this review or add your own



star star star star

Voyage of Slaves

by Brian Jacques


Reviewed on Apr 19 2014

Ben and Ned befriend a traveling troupe of players and must rescue them from a slave trader. It is too bad this is the last one of the series...there really should have been at least one more book.

Respond to this review or add your own



star star star star star

Triss


Reviewed on Apr 21 2013

There are not very many stories that have both a female hero AND a female villian. This is a great book but it marks a turning point for the series. I feel the Redwall books went down in quality after this one.

Respond to this review or add your own



star star star star star

Glory Of Unicorns


Reviewed on Apr 17 2013

A beautiful anthology about unicorns. The first story is a tale from the world of Coville's Unicorn Chronicles series that takes place when Ivy is a little girl.

Respond to this review or add your own



star star star star star

Summer Pony


Reviewed on Apr 17 2013

A short but really good book about that special bond between a girl and her horse. This is book and the sequel Winter Pony were reprinted in 2008.

Respond to this review or add your own



star star star star star

Winter Pony


Reviewed on Apr 17 2013

I was so happy when this book was reprinted in 2008. I was finally able after many years to read the sequel to Summer Pony. It is just as good as the first one.

Respond to this review or add your own



no image star star star star star

Fairy Wings


Reviewed on Apr 17 2013

E.D. Baker's charming novel is inspired by A Midsummer Night's Dream. This book is as cute and well-written as the author's Frog Princess series.

Respond to this review or add your own



star star star star star

Lord Brocktree


Reviewed on Apr 17 2013

A Redwall book...that does not have any Redwall! It is actually one of the best books in the series. A wonderful tale about the Badger Lord who started the Long Patrol.

Respond to this review or add your own



star star star star

The Warm Place


Reviewed on Apr 15 2013

This is a really cute book. A short but fun adventure tale about five friends trying to find their way home. There are not many books out there that have a young giraffe as the main character.

Respond to this review or add your own



star star star star star

Finn Family Moomintroll


Reviewed on Apr 14 2013

This was the first Moomin book I read. The whole series is so adorable. The first four are fantasy adventures but then they become more mature and more realistic in style.

Respond to this review or add your own



star star star star

Midnight For Charlie Bone


Reviewed on Apr 14 2013

Yes...I know these books are similar to Harry Potter but are written in a much simpler style. I actually like this series better than overrated Harry. The characters are not whiny self-centered brats!

Respond to this review or add your own



star star star star star

Belle Teal


Reviewed on Apr 13 2013

This is one of Ann M. Martin's best books. Belle Teal Harper must deal with a new snotty rich girl at school, racist attitudes about her new black friend and her grandmother's fading memory.

Respond to this review or add your own



star star star star

Missing Since Monday


Reviewed on Apr 13 2013

This is one of Ann M. Martin's best books. I knew that the discovery in one chapter would not amount to anything...and I also knew who was behind those phone calls. It was actually very obvious who was making the calls.

Respond to this review or add your own



star star star star star

The Kite Fighters


Reviewed on Apr 9 2013

A short but wonderful book about two brothers in 1473 Korea. Linda Sue Park proves that a good story can be told in a small amount of pages.

Respond to this review or add your own



star star

Doomwyte


Reviewed on Apr 8 2013

This is was just a darker version of the ninth book in the series Pearls of Lutra. We get another quest for jewels and and another female otter who wants revenge for the murder of her family. The villain did NOTHING but stay in his lair!

Respond to this review or add your own



star star star star star

Mossflower


Reviewed on Apr 8 2013

The prequel to Redwall is the story of how Martin the Warrior founded Redwall Abbey. A thrilling tale of good versus evil in a world of anthropomorphic animals.

Respond to this review or add your own



no image star star

Temptation


Reviewed on Apr 7 2013

The vampires always referred to blood as "nectar". It was really annoying having to read that over and over again. They are not hummingbirds! A man named Gabriel would NEVER call himself Gabri. The nickname is Gabe.

Respond to this review or add your own



star star

The Sword Of Shannara


Reviewed on Apr 7 2013

This book was nothing more than a rip-off of The Lord of the Rings. None of the characters had any personality! They were all just cardboard cutouts.

Respond to this review or add your own



star star star star star

Haroun and The Sea Of Stories


Reviewed on Apr 7 2013

A cute and light-hearted whimsical fantasy adventure. Haroun and his father journey to the Earth's second moon which they must save from the evil Khattam-Shud.

Respond to this review or add your own



no image star star star

Luka and The Fire Of Life


Reviewed on Apr 7 2013

The sequel to Haroun and the Sea of the Stories published twenty years later. It is not as good as the first one. It is still a fun and clever book but it just wasn't as light-hearted or whimsical as Haroun's story.

Respond to this review or add your own



star

Quag Keep


Reviewed on Apr 6 2013

This book was so shoddily written that it ruined what should have been a really cool story. I thought Andre Norton was supposed to be a GOOD writer! This book was garbage.

Respond to this review or add your own



star

Stubby and The Puppy Pack


Reviewed on Apr 6 2013

It seems Bill Wallace's daughter Nikki simply took two of her father's books (Upchuck and the Rotten Willy and Snot Stew) and combined them. You are better off reading Bill's books. The Puppy Pack don't even appear until the very last chapter!

Respond to this review or add your own



star

Stubby and The Puppy Pack To the Rescue


Reviewed on Apr 6 2013

The rescue part of the title does not even happen until the very last chapter. There were so many references to Doris rolling her eyes I thought they would fall out of her head! I am glad Nikki Wallace only wrote two books.

Respond to this review or add your own



star

Fly By Night


Reviewed on Apr 5 2013

This is an awful book. I still don't know how I was even able to finish it. I must have a high threshold for pain. The book's plot was overly and needlessly complex and just plain boring.

Respond to this review or add your own



no image star star

Chronicles Of the Red King #2


Reviewed on Apr 4 2013

This is a hugely disappointing sequel to The Secret Kingdom. Nothing much happens in the book. We get an entire chapter on the random refugee brats. We have to be reminded over and over again that Timoken is African. Yes, Nimmo, I am aware he is black.

Respond to this review or add your own



star star

Loamhedge


Reviewed on Apr 4 2013

I love Redwall but I feel the books dropped in quality after the 15th one. I don't think there is a single Redwall fan anywhere that actually liked this one. The villian was bland and the quest ended up being totally pointless.

Respond to this review or add your own



no image star star star star star

Mutts Shelter Stories


Reviewed on Apr 4 2013

A very cute book featuring Shelter Stories strips from Mutts and actual photos of adopted pets. This is a perfect addition to the Mutts collection.

Respond to this review or add your own



star star

The Eye Of the World


Reviewed on Apr 3 2013

If Robert Jordan would have kept things on a MUCH shorter MUCH simpler level he might have had a great series. He would have been able to finish the books before his death at only 58. I only read the first three and I have since regretted it.

Respond to this review or add your own



star star

The Princess and The Unicorn


Reviewed on Apr 3 2013

This was a very cute book...but it was just too babyish for me to give it a higher rating. The tiny fairies wear human clothes and eat human food.

Respond to this review or add your own



no image star star star star star

The One and Only Ivan


Reviewed on Apr 3 2013

I was so glad when I heard that this book won the 2013 Newbery Medal. It deserved it. It is 400 pages but with the poem writing style you can read it in two hours.

Respond to this review or add your own



star star star star star

Red Dog


Reviewed on Apr 3 2013

This is one of Bill Wallace's best books. It is an exciting tale set in 1860s Wyoming about a boy who must save his family. The boy's best friend is his red pup named Ruff.

Respond to this review or add your own



no image star star

Thirst No 1


Reviewed on Apr 3 2013

There were more explosions in this book than a Michael Bay movie! It felt like I was reading a novelization of an action movie and not a vampire story.

Respond to this review or add your own



no image star

Thirst No 2


Reviewed on Apr 3 2013

A fantasy is not good or believable if it is not based on reality. This book was so off-the-wall ridiculous that it ended up being horrible.

Respond to this review or add your own



star star star star star

The Frog Princess


Reviewed on Apr 3 2013

This is such a cute book. It is written in a simple and charming style. Before I read it I wasn't sure I would like it...but I ended up loving it.

Respond to this review or add your own



no image star star

Neopets


Reviewed on Apr 3 2013

The Neopets book series had newspaper quality paper: light-gray and very thin. The books were canceled after this one so I will never know how Sarn, Liva and Kyrok save Neopia. It was one of the reasons I quit Neopets years ago.

Respond to this review or add your own



star

Barry Trotter and The Unauthorized Parody


Reviewed on Apr 3 2013

This book was incredibly bad. I can't believe that garbage like this can actually get published. I can't believe that I wasted my time reading it.

Respond to this review or add your own



star star star star star

Around the World In 80 Days


Reviewed on Apr 2 2013

The classic story about an Englishman's seemingly impossible bet. A fast-paced, exciting and funny tale. This is a Classic book that is truly worth reading...and it is less than 200 pages.

Respond to this review or add your own



star star star star star

George Washington's Socks


Reviewed on Apr 2 2013

As you might expect from that title there are plenty of moments of humor in the book...but Woodruff certainly does not sugarcoat the horrors of war. An excellent time travel tale.

Respond to this review or add your own



no image star star star star star

George Washington's Spy


Reviewed on Apr 2 2013

The sequel to George Washington Socks published nineteen years later. I am happy to say that it is every bit as good as the first one. It was such a joy reading another adventure about them.

Respond to this review or add your own



star star star star

Kingdoms Of Light


Reviewed on Apr 2 2013

A light-hearted comedy about a dead wizard's pets who are transformed into humans to save their world. They must journey thorough a rainbow's six kingdoms. This is a book for adults but some parts seemed silly and childish.

Respond to this review or add your own



star star star star star

Island Of the Blue Dolphins


Reviewed on Apr 2 2013

This is one of Scott O'Dell's best books. It is a beautiful story about a girl surviving alone on an island after her people leave after a great tragedy.

Respond to this review or add your own



star star star star star

The Phantom Tollbooth


Reviewed on Apr 2 2013

This is one of my favorite books. It is a VERY funny and clever story about a journey through strange lands. The book is full of puns, wordplay and weirdness.

Respond to this review or add your own



star star star star star

The Neverending Story


Reviewed on Apr 2 2013

This is one of my favorite books. It is as strange as it is wonderful. A boy finds a book and halfway through the story he becomes a character in the book. This is a very clever and beautiful story.

Respond to this review or add your own



star star star star star

Enchantress From the Stars


Reviewed on Apr 2 2013

This is one of my favorite books. It is half science fiction and half fairy tale. A very original, beautiful and powerful story. I read A LOT of books and I have never read anything like it.

Respond to this review or add your own



star star star star star

The Arkadians


Reviewed on Apr 2 2013

This is one of Lloyd Alexander's best books. It is a fun story about three companions and the adventures they share on a journey. A really good read.

Respond to this review or add your own



no image star star star star

The Adventures Of Ook and Gluk, Kung-Fu Cavemen From the Future


Reviewed on Apr 2 2013

This graphic novel was not written with adults in mind...but I thought it was funny, original and cute. It could have done without that puking dinosaur.

Respond to this review or add your own



no image star star star star star

Moon-Flash


Reviewed on Apr 2 2013

An omnibus edition of Moon-Flash and The Moon and the Face. A excellent science fiction story that has adventure and romance. I like sci-fi stories that focus on the plot and characters and this is one of them.

Respond to this review or add your own



star star star star star

Biting the Sun


Reviewed on Apr 2 2013

A nameless main character tries to find her(and his) place in a "perfect" society far into the future. This book has one of the best opening lines ever.

Respond to this review or add your own



no image star

The Birthday Ball


Reviewed on Apr 2 2013

Pat's love interest is of course handsome and perfect. Lowry makes Pat's other suitors as ugly and gross as possible. That is a horrible message for a reader...that only good looking people matter.

Respond to this review or add your own



star star

Princess Nevermore


Reviewed on Apr 2 2013

A princess from the fantasy world of Mandaria gets stuck in our world. Of course two boys automatically fall in lust with her...they would not have liked her if she wasn't pretty. I HATE shallow characters!

Respond to this review or add your own



star

Fire and Hemlock


Reviewed on Apr 2 2013

I know a lot of people like this book...but it just wasn't for me. I prefer FANTASY in my fantasy novels. Most of this book was about a little girl and a grown man making up stories.

Respond to this review or add your own



star

Lightland


Reviewed on Apr 2 2013

This was one the worst books I have ever read. It was just so incredibly stupid. The author never wrote any other books...probably because this one was so bad.

Respond to this review or add your own



star star star star star

Arabian Nights


Reviewed on Apr 1 2013

A novelization of a 2000 made-for-TV movie. A retelling of the ancient story about a woman who saves her life by telling stories. We have stories-within-a story...what more could you want in a book?

Respond to this review or add your own



no image star star star star star

The 10th Kingdom


Reviewed on Apr 1 2013

A novelization of a 2000 TV miniseries. An epic journey thorough the kingdoms of another world where the old fairy tales are real. This is a book with humor, action and heart.

Respond to this review or add your own



star star star star star

Leprechauns


Reviewed on Apr 1 2013

A novelization of a 1999 made-for-TV movie. A very cute book about a man, a woman, a leprechaun and a fairy princess and how they must save the world from being destroyed by an ancient feud. We het two romances in one story.

Respond to this review or add your own



star star star star star

Ever After


Reviewed on Apr 1 2013

A novelization of a 1998 movie. A historical fiction retelling of Cinderella set in 1512 France. I loved how Danielle and Henry got to know each other as friends and gradually fell in love over time.

Respond to this review or add your own



star star star star star

Ladyhawke


Reviewed on Apr 1 2013

A novelization of a 1985 movie. A beautiful tale of lovers under a spell and their friendship with a young thief who helps them break the curse.

Respond to this review or add your own



star star star star star

Dragonslayer


Reviewed on Apr 1 2013

A novelization of a 1981 movie. An exciting story about a teenage boy in sixth century fictional Urland who must find his inner hero to defeat a dragon.

Respond to this review or add your own



star star star star star

Willow


Reviewed on Apr 1 2013

A movelization of a 1988 movie. A funny adventure about a small hero and how he and his companions save a baby girl and their world from a prophecy and an evil queen.

Respond to this review or add your own



no image star star star star star

Dragonheart


Reviewed on Apr 1 2013

A novelization of a 1995 movie. A wonderful story about a man, a woman and a dragon who have to defeat an evil prince who betrayed them. The only thing I did not like was the constant references to Kara's red hair (or her red red hair). We get the idea, Mr. Pogue.

Respond to this review or add your own



star star star

Dungeons & Dragons


Reviewed on Apr 1 2013

A novelizaiton of a 2000 movie. Yes...the movie is terrible but the book is a surprisingly decent read. I actually liked it more than other fantasy books whose titles I will not mention.

Respond to this review or add your own



no image star star

Twice Upon a Time #3


Reviewed on Apr 1 2013

The book is 282 pages long. Beauty and the Beast do not even meet until page 214! The book is NOT called Beauty and her Quest for a Pink Stone.

Respond to this review or add your own