Sign In | Register


RECENT ARRIVALS


Next >
Typhoon and Other Stories (Modern Library Classics)
stock photo

Typhoon and Other Stories (Modern Library Classics)

By Conrad, Joseph; Unsworth, Barry (Introduction)

New York: Modern Library, 2003-03-11. Paperback. Very Good. 237 pages; edge wear; Four classic sea-related tales by Joseph Conrad, two set on a ship and two in a coastal town, present, as critic Paul Kirschner has observed, "a chiaroscuro of sea and land life in an alternating rhythm of hope and despair.

$1.00

Charlotte and Dr. James

By McCrone, Guy

New York: Farrar, Straus & Cudahy, 1957. Hardcover. Very Good. 217 pages; corners lightly bumped, some edge wear;

$1.99

A Mother and Two Daughters

By Godwin, Gail

New York: Viking Adult, 1982-01-08. Hardcover. Good/Good. 564 pages; ex-library with usual markings, edge wear to jacket and boards, corners bumped; At the death of Leonard Strickland, beloved Southern gentleman, husband and father, his family is faced with the unknown. Nell always relied on the husband of her youth for security and friendship. Fiercely independent Cate and perfect Lydia have spent their lives vying for the love and approval their father generously gave. And as each woman begins to view her life, her past, and the possibilities of the future with new eyes, each belatedly discovers that life and death are impossible to plan, and that the past that has kept them apart can bring them closer to themselves and one another.

$1.99

Good as Gold

By Heller, Joseph

New York: Simon & Schuster, 1979. Book Club. Hardcover. Very Good/Very Good. 408 pages; corners lightly bumped, some light edge wear to jacket and boards; On paper, Bruce Gold seems to have carved a comfortable niche for himself. But in the flesh, he's not so impressive. His ancient father thinks he's a fool, his children fail to notice him and even his wife doesn't realise he's no longer living with her. Gold's been promised a prestigious government post in Washington - only he's never been told what the position actually is. Hugely funny and sweetly sad, "Good as Gold" is the story of children grown up, parents grown old, and lovers grown apart.

$1.99

Reader's Digest Select Editions Vol. 6 1999 Lake News, the Devil's Teardrop, Thunderhead, and a Walk to Remember

By Delinsky, Barbara; Deaver, Jeffery; Sparks, Nicholas; Preston, Douglas; Child, Lincoln

Pleasantville, NY: Reader's Digest, 1999. Hardcover. Very Good/Very Good. 574 pages; some edge wear to boards and jacket; Abridged versions of "The Devil's Teardrop" by Jeffery Deaver; "Lake News" by Barbara Delinsky; "Thunderhead"by Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child; "A Walk To Remember" by Nicholas Sparks.

$1.99

The Squirrel Cage

By Peyser, Arnold

New York: Donald I. Fine, 1985-05-27. First Edition. Hardcover. Good/Good. 233 pages; ex-library with usual markings, some edge wear to boards, rfep torn;

$1.00

The Book of Guys

By Keillor, Garrison

New York: The Viking Press, 1993-11-01. Hardcover. Very Good/Very Good. 340 pages; very light edge wear to boards and jacket, remainder mark on bottom page ends; The beloved author of five previous bestsellers, including Lake Wobegon Days delivers a hilarious collection of 22 stories about all kinds of guys.

$1.99

What Looks Like Crazy on an Ordinary Day
stock photo

What Looks Like Crazy on an Ordinary Day

By Cleage, Pearl

New York: Harper Paperbacks, 1998-11-01. Paperback. Good. 242 pages; edge wear, cover edges curled slightly, sunning to page edges; After more than a decade of living the high life, Ava Johnson returns to the sleepy little community in Northern Michigan where she grew up. But what Ava perceives as an end is only the beginning, because there is too much happening in her small hometown to ignore. A highly readable fiction debut in the tradition of Terry McMillan and Connie Briscoe.

$1.00

And the Word Was: A Novel
stock photo

And the Word Was: A Novel

By Bauman, Bruce

New York: Other Press, 2005-04-17. First Edition. Hardcover. Very Good/Good. 350 pages; corners bumped, slight edge wear to boards; jacket has more significant edge wear, slight soiling; When the tragic death of his son compels Dr. Neil Downs to flee New York City for India, he takes a job as the resident physician at the American Embassy, where he is introduced to the paradoxes of Indian social and political life. Unable to mourn, and angry about a betrayal on the part of his wife, Sarah, Neil seeks philosophical refuge in the writings of Levi Furstenblum, whose work grapples with the nature of language and god after Auschwitz. At the same time, he becomes involved with a prestigious Indian family and forms a bond with Holika, the rebellious, activist niece of the family's industrial and political doyen. With this relationship, Neil discovers the intrigues and the horrors that plague a society not dissimilar to the one he left behind. Through a complex interplay between the external and internal, foreign and domestic, the promises of faith and the ineluctability of evil, Neil slowly unravels the lies and misrepresentations that had woven the texture of his life. This tightly plotted novel will be irresistible to anyone who yearns for affirmation in spirituality and matters of the heart. A stunning reinterpretation of the Abraham and Isaac sacrifice myth, "And the Word Was" is guaranteed to leave readers profoundly moved.

$8.00

Second Wives
stock photo

Second Wives

By Blake, Cindy

New York: St. Martins Press, 1998-09-01. Hardcover. Very Good/Good. 321 pages; light edge wear to boards, corners bumped, small edge tears in jacket; When their brother dies, the Preston sisters find that their mother withdraws from them, scarring them for life. Ten years later, Meg and Amy marry, Beth shuns commitment, and Leonora falls in love with an older man. But then an unresolved emotional legacy threatens to destroy them all.

$1.99

A Charles Dickens Christmas (A Christmas Carol/The Chimes/The Cricket on the Hearth)

By Dickens, Charles

New York: Oxford University Press, 1976. Hardcover. Very Good. Chappell, Warren. 308 pages; light edge wear; a beautiful edition of these Dickens' classic Christmas stories.

$8.00

The Devil Is Loose!

By Maillet, Antonine

New York: Walker & Co, 1987-04. First Edition. Hardcover. Very Good/Good. 310 pages; light edge wear, corners slightly bumped, jacket has a sticker on front; A seafaring novel of rum-running and piracy.

$8.00

Singing Waters

By Bridge, Ann

New York: The Macmillan Company, 1946. Hardcover. Good. 343 pages; corners bumped, some edge wear to boards;

$1.99

Clearcut: A Novel

By Shengold, Nina

New York: Anchor, 2005. Book Club. Hardcover. Very Good/Very Good. 342 pages; light edge wear to jacket and boards; Set in the primal splendor of the Pacific Northwest, Shengold's debut novel is a provocative, explicitly sensual, and deeply moving story that evinces both Shengold's unerring eye for comic detail and her surehanded skill at capturing the deepest contours of her characters' emotional lives.

$5.00

Scruples Two
stock photo

Scruples Two

By Krantz, Judith

New York: Crown, 1992-05-31. Hardcover. Very Good. 464 pages; light edge wear to boards; some dents and soiling to page ends; Billy Ikehorn: Meet again the magnificent owner of Scruples. Billy is imperious and stubborn, a creature of rampant sexuality, too rich, too vulnerable and far, far too impulsive. The story begins on the day after Scruples ended, the day on which Billy's husband, producer Vito Orsini, won the Oscar for Best Picture. Spider Elliot, who reigns like a pasha at Scruples, is a man who adores women and can read their minds. He is more than tough enough to stand up to Billy. Valentine O'Neill is the brilliant young designer for Scruples. As alert as a vixen, hot tempered, and thoroughly lovable, she is as difficult to pin down as a mermaid. Now Billy, Spider and Valentine have explosive unfinished business. Watch the sparks fly as this irresistible story unfolds with an enchanting new cast of characters, including Gigi (Graziella Giovanna) Orsini, Vito's daughter from an early marriage. Gigi, with her charm, independence and wild sense of humour, changes the lives of everyone who knows her. It is Billy and Gigi who together dominate the new chapter in a story millions of readers wish had never ended.

$1.99

The Hotel New Hampshire

By Irving, John

New York: E. P. Dutton, 1981-09-30. Hardcover. Good. 401 pages; corners bumped, edges lightly worn and dented; 'The first of my father's illusions was that bears could survive the life lived by human beings, and the second was that human beings could survive a life led in hotels'. So says John Berry, son of a hapless dreamer, brother to a cadre of eccentric siblings, and chronicler of the lives lived, the loves experienced, the deaths met, and the myriad strange and wonderful times encountered by the family Berry. Hoteliers, pet-bear owners, friends of Freud (the animal trainer and vaudevillian, that is), and playthings of mad fate, they 'dream on' in this funny, sad, outrageous, and moving novel.

$1.99

Mistral's Daughter

By Krantz, Judith

New York: Crown Publishers, 1982-12-29. First Edition. Hardcover. Good. 531 pages; edge wear to boards, some light scuffing/soiling; They were three generations of magnificent red-haired beauties born to scandal, bred to success, bound to a single extraordinary man--Julien Mistral, the painter, the genius, the lover whose passions had seared them all. Maggy--Flamboyant mistress of Mistral's youth, the toast of Paris in the '20s. Her luminous flesh was immortalized in the paintings that made Mistral legendary. Teddy--Maggy's daughter, the incomparable cover girl who lived fast and left as her legacy Mistral's dazzling love child. Fauve--Mistral's daughter, the headstrong, fearless glory girl whose one dark secret drove her to rule the world of high fashion and to risk everything in a feverish search for love. From the '20s Paris of Chanel, Colette, Picasso and Matisse to New York's sizzling new modeling agencies of the '50s, to the model ward of the '70s, "Mistral's Daughter" captures the explosive glamour of life at the top of the worlds of art and high fashion.

$1.99

Reservations Recommended

By Kraft, Eric

New York: Crown, 1990-04-21. Book Club. Hardcover. Very Good. 277 pages; light edge wear to boards; Matthew Barber is vice-president for new product development at Manning & Rafter Toy Company. By night he is B.W.Beath, restaurant reviewer for "Boston Biweekly" magazine. As we follow him from one dining experience to another, we witness his life and loves and the culture of contemporary America.

$1.99

Maybe the Moon: A Novel

By Maupin, Armistead

New York: Harpercollins, 1992-10. First Edition. Hardcover. Good/Good. 307 pages; edge wear to jacket and boards, some adhesive residue on jacket, corners bumped; The story of Cadence Roth - Hollywood actress, singer, 31 inches tall, and depressed by her lack of success. It takes a lanky piano-player to make her shoot for the moon with a scheme so daring that it just might succeed.

$1.00

Mother

By Norris, Kathleen

Cleveland: The World Publishing Company, 1946. Hardcover. Good. 188 pages; pages heavily tanned, edge wear, corners bumped, boards stained, discolored; The novel begins: Well, we couldn't have much worse weather than this for the last week of school, could we? Margaret Paget said in discouragement. She stood at one of the school windows, her hands thrust deep in her coat pockets for warmth, her eyes following the whirling course of the storm that howled outside. The day had commenced with snow, but now, at twelve o'clock the rain was falling in sheets, and the barren schoolhouse yard, and the playshed roof, ran muddy streams of water.

$5.00

Next >