Chaos

by Gleick, James

The million-copy bestseller by National Book Award nominee and Pulitzer Prize finalist James Gleick that reveals the science behind chaos theoryNational bestsellerMore than a million copies soldA work of popular science in the tradition of Stephen Hawking and Carl Sagan, this 20th-anniversary edition of James Gleick’s groundbreaking bestseller Chaos introduces a whole new readership to chaos theory, one of the most significant waves of scientific knowledge in our time. From Edward Lorenz’s discovery of the Butterfly Effect, to Mitchell Feigenbaum’s calculation of a universal constant, to Benoit Mandelbrot’s concept of fractals, which created a new geometry of nature, Gleick’s engaging narrative focuses on the key figures whose genius converged to chart an innovative direction for science. In Chaos,Gleick makes the story of chaos theory not only fascinating but also accessible to beginners, and opens our eyes to a surprising new view of the universe.

Reviews

Review this book!

Available Copies

Chaos: making a new science

Chaos: making a new science

by James Gleick

Condition
Used - Good
Published
1988
Binding
Paperback
ISBN
9780749386061
Quantity Available
1
Seller
Wellington, Auckland, NZL
Seller rating:
This seller has earned a 4 of 5 Stars rating from Biblio customers.
Item Price
$6.80

Show Details

Description:
UK: Minerva. Good. Paperback. 1988. 352 pages. .
Item Price
$6.80
CHAOS: MAKING A NEW SCIENCE

CHAOS: MAKING A NEW SCIENCE

by Gleick, James

Condition
Used - Near Fine
Edition
Sixteenth Printing
Published
1988
Binding
Trade Paperback
ISBN
9780140092509
Quantity Available
1
Seller
Las Vegas , Nevada, USA
Seller rating:
This seller has earned a 5 of 5 Stars rating from Biblio customers.
Item Price
$6.00

Show Details

Description:
Penguin (Non-Classics). Near Fine. 1988. Sixteenth Printing. Trade Paperback. 0140092501 . Book is Near Fine. Appears book never read. Tight and sturdy binding. Clean and unmarked text. Very light edge wear to cover. ; Trade PB .
Item Price
$6.00
Chaos

Chaos

by Gleick, James

Condition
Used - Acceptable
Binding
Paperback
ISBN
9780749386061
Quantity Available
1
Seller
GORING BY SEA, West Sussex, GBR
Seller rating:
This seller has earned a 2 of 5 Stars rating from Biblio customers.
Item Price
$1.74

Show Details

Description:
Paperback. Acceptable.
Item Price
$1.74
No image available

Chaos: Making a New Science

by James Gleick

Condition
Used - Near Fine
Jacket Condition
Near Fine
Edition
1st Edition 1st Printing
Published
1987
Binding
Hardcover
ISBN
9780670811786
Quantity Available
1
Seller
Pasadena, California, USA
Seller rating:
This seller has earned a 5 of 5 Stars rating from Biblio customers.
Item Price
$45.00

Show Details

Description:
New York: Viking, 1987. 1st Edition 1st Printing. Hardcover. Near Fine/Near Fine. Drawings, Plates. Xi, 354 Pp. Black Cloth Over Black Boards. First Printing. Very Near Fine Book In Very Near Fine Dj, Priced $19.95, With 1/2" Semicircular Damp Spot At Top Of Front Flap, And 4 Tiny Damp Spot On Foredge Of Text Block.
Item Price
$45.00
No image available

Chaos: Making a New Science

by Gleick, James

Condition
New
Published
2008-08-26
Binding
Paperback
ISBN
9780143113454
Quantity Available
1
Seller
Fairfax Station, Virginia, USA
Seller rating:
This seller has earned a 2 of 5 Stars rating from Biblio customers.
Item Price
$14.97

Show Details

Description:
Penguin Books, 2008-08-26. Paperback. New.
Item Price
$14.97
No image available

Chaos: Making a New Science

by Gleick, James

Condition
Used - Good
ISBN
9780140092509
Quantity Available
1
Seller
Frederick, Maryland, USA
Seller rating:
This seller has earned a 4 of 5 Stars rating from Biblio customers.
Item Price
$3.99

Show Details

Description:
Penguin Books. Used - Good. Good condition. A copy that has been read but remains intact. May contain markings such as bookplates, stamps, limited notes and highlighting, or a few light stains.
Item Price
$3.99
No image available

Chaos; Making of a New Science

by Gleick, James

Condition
Used - Good
Edition
Sixth Printing [stated]
Published
1988
Binding
Trade paperback
ISBN
9780140092509
Quantity Available
1
Seller
Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Seller rating:
This seller has earned a 5 of 5 Stars rating from Biblio customers.
Item Price
$50.00

Show Details

Description:
New York: Penguin Books, 1988. Sixth Printing [stated]. Trade paperback. Good. xi, [3], 352, [2] pages. Illustrations (some in color). Notes on Sources and Further Reading. Index. Signed by author on title page. Cover has some wear, soiling and is scuffed at back. Some page soiling. James Gleick (born August 1, 1954)… Read more about this item
Item Price
$50.00
No image available

Chaos: Making a New Science

by Gleick, James

Condition
Used - Very Good
Published
1988-12-01
Binding
Paperback
ISBN
9780140092509
Quantity Available
1
Seller
Sonoma, California, USA
Seller rating:
This seller has earned a 5 of 5 Stars rating from Biblio customers.
Item Price
$3.99

Show Details

Description:
Penguin Books, 1988-12-01. Paperback. Very Good. 1.0000 9.0000 6.0000. Paperback in very good condition. All inside pages are in great shape. Minor shelf wear to the cover.
Item Price
$3.99
Chaos: Making a New Science
More Photos

Chaos: Making a New Science

by Gleick, James

Condition
Used - Fine
Jacket Condition
Fine
Edition
Reissue
Published
2015
Binding
Hard Cover
ISBN
9789900165903
Quantity Available
1
Seller
Webster, New York, USA
Seller rating:
This seller has earned a 5 of 5 Stars rating from Biblio customers.
Item Price
$125.00

Show Details

Description:
London: The Folio Society, 2015. Reissue. Hard Cover. Fine/Fine. 0x0x0. Includes publisher's slipcase. An exceptional copy. 2015 Hard Cover. ix, [7], 347 pp. Color photographic frontispiece and plates. "Explains the meaning and application of chaos--the study of patterns emerging from seemingly random phenomena--and introduces the scientists responsible for major discoveries in this field." Includes: Prologue; The Butterfly Effect;… Read more about this item
Item Price
$125.00
No image available

Chaos : Making a New Science

by Gleick, James

Condition
Used - Good
ISBN
9780140092509
Quantity Available
1
Seller
Reno, Nevada, USA
Seller rating:
This seller has earned a 5 of 5 Stars rating from Biblio customers.
Item Price
$5.00

Show Details

Description:
Penguin Publishing Group. Used - Good. Former library book; may include library markings. Used book that is in clean, average condition without any missing pages.
Item Price
$5.00
No image available

Chaos : Making a New Science

by Gleick, James

Condition
Used - Good
ISBN
9780140092509
Quantity Available
1
Seller
Mishawaka, Indiana, USA
Seller rating:
This seller has earned a 5 of 5 Stars rating from Biblio customers.
Item Price
$6.81

Show Details

Description:
Penguin Publishing Group. Used - Good. Former library book; may include library markings. Used book that is in clean, average condition without any missing pages.
Item Price
$6.81
Chaos

Chaos

by Gleick, James

Condition
Used - Very Good
Binding
Paperback
ISBN
9780749386061
Quantity Available
1
Seller
GORING BY SEA, West Sussex, GBR
Seller rating:
This seller has earned a 2 of 5 Stars rating from Biblio customers.
Item Price
$1.74

Show Details

Description:
Paperback. Very Good.
Item Price
$1.74
No image available

Chaos: Making a New Science

by Gleick, James

Condition
Used - Good
Jacket Condition
No Jacket
Published
1987
Binding
Paperback
ISBN
9780670811786
Quantity Available
1
Seller
Lake Leelanau, Michigan, USA
Seller rating:
This seller has earned a 5 of 5 Stars rating from Biblio customers.
Item Price
$3.95

Show Details

Description:
New York, NY, U.S.A.: Viking Penguin, 1987. Good. No Jacket 8vo-over 7¾"-9¾" tall. Cover shows rubbing light edgewear, creased; interior clean, binding tight.. Soft Cover. Good/No Jacket.
Item Price
$3.95
No image available

Chaos: Making a New Science

by Gleick, James.

Condition
Used
ISBN
9780747404132
Quantity Available
1
Seller
Morrinsville, NZL
Seller rating:
This seller has earned a 5 of 5 Stars rating from Biblio customers.
Item Price
$5.00

Show Details

Description:
Cardinal, U.S.A., 1988. Trade Paperback. Book Condition: Good. Moderate reading wear. Very Clean interior..
Item Price
$5.00
No image available

Chaos: Making a New Science

by Gleick, James

Condition
Used - Good
Published
1988-12-01
Binding
Paperback
ISBN
9780140092509
Quantity Available
1
Seller
Champaign, Illinois, USA
Seller rating:
This seller has earned a 5 of 5 Stars rating from Biblio customers.
Item Price
$3.59

Show Details

Description:
Penguin Books, 1988-12-01. Paperback. Good. Ships quickly. Mild to moderate shelf/reading wear. Orphans Treasure Box sells books to raise money for orphans and vulnerable kids.
Item Price
$3.59
No image available

Chaos : Making a New Science

by Gleick, James

Condition
Used - Good
ISBN
9780140092509
Quantity Available
1
Seller
Mishawaka, Indiana, USA
Seller rating:
This seller has earned a 5 of 5 Stars rating from Biblio customers.
Item Price
$6.81

Show Details

Description:
Penguin Publishing Group. Used - Good. Used book that is in clean, average condition without any missing pages.
Item Price
$6.81
No image available

Chaos: Making a New Science

by JAMES GLEICK

Condition
Used - Fine
Published
1988
Binding
Softcover
ISBN
9780140092509
Quantity Available
1
Seller
Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Seller rating:
This seller has earned a 5 of 5 Stars rating from Biblio customers.
Item Price
$45.00

Show Details

Description:
1988. softcover. Fine. Fine Condition. Signed by the author. First edition, presumed first printing. VERY GOOD / FINE. Red mark on outside of text block - other than that, FINE Copy. Book purchase also includes three signed labels from Freeman Dyson as well as a addressed envelope from Freeman Dyson while at the Institue for Advanced Study. Tight… Read more about this item
Item Price
$45.00
Chaos

Chaos

by Gleick, James

Condition
Used - Good
Binding
Paperback
ISBN
9780749386061
Quantity Available
1
Seller
GORING BY SEA, West Sussex, GBR
Seller rating:
This seller has earned a 2 of 5 Stars rating from Biblio customers.
Item Price
$1.74

Show Details

Description:
Paperback. Good.
Item Price
$1.74
Chaos: Making a New Science

Chaos: Making a New Science

by Gleick, James

Condition
As New
Published
1997
Binding
Soft cover
ISBN
9780749386061
Quantity Available
1
Seller
Kraków, POL
Seller rating:
This seller has earned a 5 of 5 Stars rating from Biblio customers.
Item Price
$12.72

Show Details

Description:
Vintage, 1997 12mo (19.5 cm), XIV, 352 pp. Laminated wrappers. "Chaos, a book by James Gleick, first introduced the concept and early development of the chaos theory to the public. Chaos theory is a relatively new field in physics, and deals with simple and complex causes that react to one another. Chaos theory is considered as the third revolution in… Read more about this item
Item Price
$12.72
Chaos: Making a New Science

Chaos: Making a New Science

by Gleick, James

Condition
Used - Very Good
Published
1988
Binding
Paperback
ISBN
9780140092509
Quantity Available
1
Seller
Seattle, Washington, USA
Seller rating:
This seller has earned a 5 of 5 Stars rating from Biblio customers.
Item Price
$6.48

Show Details

Description:
Penguin Books, 1988. Paperback. Very Good. Former library book; May have limited writing in cover pages. Pages are unmarked. ~ ThriftBooks: Read More, Spend Less.Dust jacket quality is not guaranteed.
Item Price
$6.48