Sign In | Register

Robin Hobb

Margaret Astrid Lindholm Ogden (born 1952 in California) is an author of fantasy fiction.

From 1983-1992 she wrote under the pseudonym Megan Lindholm. In 1995, she relaunched her career under the name Robin Hobb, and has since published using that pseudonym. She presently lives in Tacoma, Washington.

As Robin Hobb

The Farseer Trilogy

The Farseer Trilogy follows the life of FitzChivalry Farseer (Fitz), a royal bastard and trained assassin, in a kingdom called The Six Duchies while his uncle, Prince Verity, attempts to wage war on the Red-Ship Raiders from The OutIslands who are attacking the shores of the kingdom.

* Assassin's Apprentice (1995)
* Royal Assassin (1996)
* Assassin's Quest (1997)

The Liveship Traders Trilogy

The Liveship Traders Trilogy mainly takes place south of The Six Duchies in Bingtown (a colony of Jamaillia) and focuses on Liveships (sentient ships). The trilogy is unusually nautical- an area seldom covered in fantasy. While this trilogy does not follow FitzChivalry Farseer's life, it is linked to both the Farseer and Tawny Man trilogies through The Fool.

* Ship Of Magic (1998)
* The Mad Ship (1999)
* Ship Of Destiny (2000)

The Tawny Man

The Tawny Man continues the life of FitzChivalry Farseer from The Farseer Trilogy. It commences 15 years after the events in Assassin's Quest, a period covered by The Liveship Traders Trilogy. It focuses on The Fool's attempts to guide others to fulfil his prophecies.

* Fool's Errand (2002)
* Golden Fool (2003)
* Fool's Fate (2003)

Soldier Son Trilogy

Set in a new world unrelated to her previous trilogies, the Soldier Son Trilogy follows the life of Nevare Burvelle, the second son of a newly elevated Lord of the Kingdom of Gernia, and his preparation for and education at the King's Cavalla Academy.

* Shaman's Crossing (2005)
* Forest Mage forthcoming
* Renegade Magic forthcoming