Sign In | Register
Rubáiyát of Omar Khayyám. by  Edward  Frank.) FITZGERALD - 1919 - from Peter Harrington and

Rubáiyát of Omar Khayyám.

by (BRANGWYN, Frank.) FITZGERALD, Edward

Condition: See description

London & Edinburgh: T. N. Foulis,, 1919. Quarto (249 x 184 mm). Contemporary red crushed morocco, spine lettered in gilt with gilt grape and goblet ornaments, double gilt fillet border to covers enclosing gilt centrepiece on front cover of snake and goblet, gilt turn-ins, marbled endpapers, top edge gilt. With 15 colour plates by Frank Brangwyn mounted on grey paper; one quatrain to a page printed within a grape vine border. Single very minor scratch to rear cover. A superb copy. Deluxe edition, limited to 350 unnumbered copies only, in a highly attractive custom binding, with the design incorporating the poem's multiple references to wine. Rubáiyáts with Brangwyn's illustrations were published from 1906 onwards; this edition, the most comprehensive and elaborate, includes seven illustrations by the artist hitherto unpublished.


Review this book (Want a chance to win $50? Log-in or create an account first!) (You'll be automatically entered for a chance to win $50!)


Some terminology that may be used in this description includes:
top edge gilt
Top edge gilt refers to the practice of applying gold or a gold-like finish to the top of the text block (the edges the...[more]
Morocco is a style of leather book binding that is usually made with goatskin, as it is durable and easy to dye. (see also...[more]
The outer portion of a book which covers the actual binding. The spine usually faces outward when a book is placed on a shelf....[more]
The decorative application of gold or gold coloring to a portion of a book on the spine, edges of the text block, or an inlay in...[more]
The term quarto is used to describe a page or book size. A printed sheet is made with four pages of text on each side, and the...[more]

£ 2,250.00

£12.00 shipping to USA

More shipping options >

Nebula Award Winners of the 1970s

Collecting Nebula Award Winners of the 1970s

The Nebula Award has been awarded to stories in the Science Fiction and Fantasy genre every year since 1966. Learn about the winners of the 1970s!

What is a First Edition?

What is a first edition?

Even if you're only peripherally aware of book collecting, you've doubtless heard the term, first edition, bandied about but you may still be in the dark as to what makes them such a big deal. Learn about first editions and why collectors value them here.