Skip to content

Chaos: Making a New Science
Stock Photo: Cover May Be Different

Chaos: Making a New Science Paperback - 2008

by James Gleick

The twentieth-anniversary edition of the million-copy-plusBestseller

THIS EDITION of James Gleick's groundbreaking bestsellerintroduces to a whole new readership the story of one of the mostsignificant waves of scientific knowledge in our time. By focusingon the key figures whose genius converged to chart an innovativedirection for science, Gleick makes the story of chaos theory not onlyfascinating but also accessible, and opens our eyes to a surprisingnew view of the universe.


Summary

The million-copy bestseller by National Book Award nominee and Pulitzer Prize finalist James Gleick that reveals the science behind chaos theory

National bestseller
More than a million copies sold

A work of popular science in the tradition of Stephen Hawking and Carl Sagan, this 20th-anniversary edition of James Gleick’s groundbreaking bestseller Chaos introduces a whole new readership to chaos theory, one of the most significant waves of scientific knowledge in our time. From Edward Lorenz’s discovery of the Butterfly Effect, to Mitchell Feigenbaum’s calculation of a universal constant, to Benoit Mandelbrot’s concept of fractals, which created a new geometry of nature, Gleick’s engaging narrative focuses on the key figures whose genius converged to chart an innovative direction for science. In Chaos,Gleick makes the story of chaos theory not only fascinating but also accessible to beginners, and opens our eyes to a surprising new view of the universe.

From the publisher

James Gleick was born in New York City in 1954. He worked for ten years as an editor and reporter for The New York Times, founded an early Internet portal, the Pipeline, and has written several books of popular science, including The Information: A History, a Theory, a Flood, which won the Pen/E. O. Wilson Literary Science Writing Award. He lives in Key West and New York.   

Details

  • Title Chaos: Making a New Science
  • Author James Gleick
  • Binding Paperback
  • Edition ANV REP
  • Pages 384
  • Volumes 1
  • Language ENG
  • Publisher Penguin Books, New York
  • Date 2008-09-01
  • Illustrated Yes
  • Features Bibliography, Illustrated, Index, Price on Product - Canadian, Table of Contents
  • ISBN 9780143113454 / 0143113453
  • Weight 1 lbs (0.45 kg)
  • Dimensions 8.5 x 5.5 x 1.2 in (21.59 x 13.97 x 3.05 cm)
  • Ages 18 to UP years
  • Grade levels 13 - UP
  • Reading level 1160
  • Library of Congress subjects Chaotic behavior in systems
  • Library of Congress Catalog Number 2009285057
  • Dewey Decimal Code 003.857

Media reviews

“ Fascinating . . . almost every paragraph contains a jolt.” The New York Times

“ Taut and exciting . . . a fascinating illustration of how the pattern of science changes.” The New York Times Book Review

“ Highly entertaining . . . a startling look at newly discovered universal laws.” Chicago Tribune

“ An awe-inspiring book. Reading it gave me that sensation othat someone had just found the light switch.” —Douglas Adams, author of The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy

Chaos is a feast.” The Washington Post Book World

Citations

  • Scitech Book News, 06/01/2009, Page 12

About the author

James Gleick was born in New York City in 1954. He worked for ten years as an editor and reporter for The New York Times, founded an early Internet portal, the Pipeline, and has written several books of popular science, including The Information: A History, a Theory, a Flood, which won the PEN/E. O. Wilson Literary Science Writing Award, and Time Travel: A History. He lives in Key West and New York.
Back to Top

More Copies for Sale

Chaos: Making a New Science
Stock Photo: Cover May Be Different

Chaos: Making a New Science

by Gleick, James

  • Used
Condition
UsedAcceptable
ISBN 10 / ISBN 13
9780143113454 / 0143113453
Quantity Available
1
Seller
Spokane, Washington, United States
Seller rating:
This seller has earned a 5 of 5 Stars rating from Biblio customers.
Item Price
$4.88
$3.99 shipping to USA

Show Details

Description:
UsedAcceptable. Condition: Used book in acceptable condition. Cover may include stickers/heavy wear. Heavy wear on pages, heavy highlighting/writing on pages, staining, and moisture damage (rippling/warping). All orders ship via UPS Mail Innovations - can take up to 14 business days from first scan to be delivered. Creasing, curling, bending of the covers. Frayed or tears in cover. Water damage & rippling of pages. The book is warped/bent
Item Price
$4.88
$3.99 shipping to USA
Chaos: Making a New Science
Stock Photo: Cover May Be Different

Chaos: Making a New Science

by Gleick, James

  • Used
Condition
UsedAcceptable
ISBN 10 / ISBN 13
9780143113454 / 0143113453
Quantity Available
1
Seller
Rockford, Illinois, United States
Seller rating:
This seller has earned a 5 of 5 Stars rating from Biblio customers.
Item Price
$5.03
$3.99 shipping to USA

Show Details

Description:
UsedAcceptable. Item in acceptable condition including possible liquid damage. As well answers may be filled in. May be missing DVDs, CDs, Access code, etc. 100%Money-Back Guarantee! Ship within 24 hours!!
Item Price
$5.03
$3.99 shipping to USA
Chaos: Making a New Science
Stock Photo: Cover May Be Different

Chaos: Making a New Science

by Gleick, James

  • Used
  • Paperback
Condition
Used - Good
Binding
Paperback
ISBN 10 / ISBN 13
9780143113454 / 0143113453
Quantity Available
1
Seller
Eugene , Oregon, United States
Seller rating:
This seller has earned a 5 of 5 Stars rating from Biblio customers.
Item Price
$6.99
$3.99 shipping to USA

Show Details

Description:
Penguin Books. Used - Good. BOOK HAS SOME WRITING AND/OR UNDERLINING IN IT BUT REMAINS IN GOOD READABLE CONDITION. paperback 100% of proceeds go to charity! Good condition with all pages in tact. Item shows signs of use and may have cosmetic defects.
Item Price
$6.99
$3.99 shipping to USA
Chaos: Making a New Science
Stock Photo: Cover May Be Different

Chaos: Making a New Science

by Gleick, James

  • Used
Condition
UsedGood
ISBN 10 / ISBN 13
9780143113454 / 0143113453
Quantity Available
1
Seller
Rotterdam , New York, United States
Seller rating:
This seller has earned a 5 of 5 Stars rating from Biblio customers.
Item Price
$7.18
FREE shipping to USA

Show Details

Description:
UsedGood. Shows minimal wear such as frayed or folded edges, minor rips and tears, and/or slightly worn binding. May have stickers and/or contain inscription on title page. No observed missing pages.
Item Price
$7.18
FREE shipping to USA
Chaos : Making a New Science

Chaos : Making a New Science

by James Gleick

  • Used
  • Acceptable
  • Paperback
Condition
Used - Acceptable
Binding
Paperback
ISBN 10 / ISBN 13
9780143113454 / 0143113453
Quantity Available
1
Seller
Seattle, Washington, United States
Seller rating:
This seller has earned a 4 of 5 Stars rating from Biblio customers.
Item Price
$8.14
FREE shipping to USA

Show Details

Description:
Penguin Publishing Group, 2008. Paperback. Acceptable. Disclaimer:A readable copy. All pages are intact, and the cover is intact. Pages can include considerable notes-in pen or highlighter-but the notes cannot obscure the text. At ThriftBooks, our motto is: Read More, Spend Less.Dust jacket quality is not guaranteed.
Item Price
$8.14
FREE shipping to USA
Chaos: Making a New Science
Stock Photo: Cover May Be Different

Chaos: Making a New Science

by Gleick, James

  • Used
  • Good
  • Paperback
Condition
Used - Good
Edition
20th Anniversary ed
Binding
Paperback
ISBN 10 / ISBN 13
9780143113454 / 0143113453
Quantity Available
1
Seller
Laramie, Wyoming, United States
Seller rating:
This seller has earned a 5 of 5 Stars rating from Biblio customers.
Item Price
$9.00
$4.25 shipping to USA

Show Details

Description:
Penguin Books, 2008-08-26. 20th Anniversary ed. Paperback. Good. 8x5x1. Cover is different than one pictured. Minor wear to page edges and corners. Binding tight.Paperback.Stickers on back cover. Name on inside cover, otherwise, No writing, highlighting, or marks in text.
Item Price
$9.00
$4.25 shipping to USA
Chaos : Making a New Science
Stock Photo: Cover May Be Different

Chaos : Making a New Science

by Gleick, James

  • Used
Condition
Used - Very Good
ISBN 10 / ISBN 13
9780143113454 / 0143113453
Quantity Available
1
Seller
Reno, Nevada, United States
Seller rating:
This seller has earned a 5 of 5 Stars rating from Biblio customers.
Item Price
$11.18
FREE shipping to USA

Show Details

Description:
Penguin Publishing Group. Used - Very Good. Used book that is in excellent condition. May show signs of wear or have minor defects.
Item Price
$11.18
FREE shipping to USA
Chaos : Making a New Science
Stock Photo: Cover May Be Different

Chaos : Making a New Science

by Gleick, James

  • Used
Condition
Used - Good
ISBN 10 / ISBN 13
9780143113454 / 0143113453
Quantity Available
1
Seller
Mishawaka, Indiana, United States
Seller rating:
This seller has earned a 5 of 5 Stars rating from Biblio customers.
Item Price
$12.50
FREE shipping to USA

Show Details

Description:
Penguin Publishing Group. Used - Good. Former library book; may include library markings. Used book that is in clean, average condition without any missing pages.
Item Price
$12.50
FREE shipping to USA
Chaos: Making a New Science
Stock Photo: Cover May Be Different

Chaos: Making a New Science

by Gleick, James

  • Used
  • Paperback
Condition
Used: Good
Edition
First Edition
Binding
Paperback
ISBN 10 / ISBN 13
9780143113454 / 0143113453
Quantity Available
1
Seller
HOUSTON, Texas, United States
Seller rating:
This seller has earned a 3 of 5 Stars rating from Biblio customers.
Item Price
$12.60
FREE shipping to USA

Show Details

Description:
Penguin Books, 2008-08-26. First Edition. paperback. Used: Good.
Item Price
$12.60
FREE shipping to USA
Chaos Making a New Science
Stock Photo: Cover May Be Different

Chaos Making a New Science

by James Gleick

  • Used
  • Very Good
  • Paperback
Condition
Used - Very Good
Binding
Paperback
ISBN 10 / ISBN 13
9780143113454 / 0143113453
Quantity Available
1
Seller
Highland, New York, United States
Seller rating:
This seller has earned a 5 of 5 Stars rating from Biblio customers.
Item Price
$16.95
FREE shipping to USA

Show Details

Description:
Penguin Books. Very Good. 2008. Paperback. 0143113453 . - Great overall condition. Minor cosmetic wear. No noteworthy blemishes. No writing. .
Item Price
$16.95
FREE shipping to USA