Skip to content

Chaos : Making a New Science

Chaos : Making a New Science

Chaos : Making a New Science
Stock Photo: Cover May Be Different

Chaos : Making a New Science

by James Gleick

  • Used
  • Acceptable
  • Hardcover
Condition
Acceptable
ISBN 10
0670811785
ISBN 13
9780670811786
Seller
Seller rating:
This seller has earned a 4 of 5 Stars rating from Biblio customers.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Item Price
$6.37
Or just $5.73 with a
Bibliophiles Club Membership
FREE Shipping to USA Standard delivery: 4 to 8 days
More Shipping Options

Payment Methods Accepted

  • Visa
  • Mastercard
  • American Express
  • Discover
  • PayPal

About This Item

Penguin Publishing Group, 1987. Hardcover. Acceptable. Former library book; Readable copy. Pages may have considerable notes/highlighting. ~ ThriftBooks: Read More, Spend Less.Dust jacket quality is not guaranteed.

Synopsis

The million-copy bestseller by National Book Award nominee and Pulitzer Prize finalist James Gleick that reveals the science behind chaos theory National bestseller More than a million copies sold A work of popular science in the tradition of Stephen Hawking and Carl Sagan, this 20th-anniversary edition of James Gleick’s groundbreaking bestseller Chaos introduces a whole new readership to chaos theory, one of the most significant waves of scientific knowledge in our time. From Edward Lorenz’s discovery of the Butterfly Effect, to Mitchell Feigenbaum’s calculation of a universal constant, to Benoit Mandelbrot’s concept of fractals, which created a new geometry of nature, Gleick’s engaging narrative focuses on the key figures whose genius converged to chart an innovative direction for science. In Chaos ,Gleick makes the story of chaos theory not only fascinating but also accessible to beginners, and opens our eyes to a surprising new view of the universe.

Reviews

(Log in or Create an Account first!)

You’re rating the book as a work, not the seller or the specific copy you purchased!

Details

Bookseller
ThriftBooks US (US)
Bookseller's Inventory #
G0670811785I5N10
Title
Chaos : Making a New Science
Author
James Gleick
Format/Binding
Hardcover
Book Condition
Used - Acceptable
Quantity Available
1
ISBN 10
0670811785
ISBN 13
9780670811786
Publisher
Penguin Publishing Group
Place of Publication
New York
Date Published
1987

Terms of Sale

ThriftBooks

30 day return guarantee, with full refund including original shipping costs for up to 30 days after delivery if an item arrives misdescribed or damaged.

About the Seller

ThriftBooks

Seller rating:
This seller has earned a 4 of 5 Stars rating from Biblio customers.
Biblio member since 2018
Seattle, Washington

About ThriftBooks

From the largest selection of used titles, we put quality, affordable books into the hands of readers

Glossary

Some terminology that may be used in this description includes:

Acceptable
A non-traditional book condition description that generally refers to a book in readable condition, although no standard exists...
Jacket
Sometimes used as another term for dust jacket, a protective and often decorative wrapper, usually made of paper which wraps...

This Book’s Categories

tracking-